Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001)

MovieRob recently asked his friends if they would each pick a random movie for him to watch.  My choice was the very trippy animated feature Waking Life.  

I listed this as one of my favorite movies of all time.  Only Richard Linklater could have people just talking with no real plot and have it be interesting.  Before I saw this in theaters back in 2001.  I was in a car accident and did very much experience what the main character was going through.  Even though my conversations were only limited to a few before I woke up from my week long slumber.  It was still as vivid as any of my waking days.  After I saw the movie,I learned of the term lucid dreaming.  Which basically means to be aware that you are dreaming.  I have only been able to have this happen a few times, but it is awesome.

The basic themes of Waking Life is if we have the ability to control our dreams.  We should do the same when we are awake. t  I liked the movie because I did not know what the story was about until close to the end, and that’s rare in movies.  Not knowing the plot until close to the end and that’s what I loved most.  Plus we get the first return of Jesse and Celine (Ehtan Hawke and Julie Delpy) from Linklater’s ‘Before‘ trilogy. Thanks again, to Movie Rob for watching this, even though it may not be his or a lot of people’s cup of tea( if he likes tea.  I don’t know, I never asked)

MOVIE ROB: Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001)

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001)

  1. Jade says:

    Cool recommendation! I’ve never heard of this and am intrigued.

  2. movierob says:

    nope. not a fan of tea or any hot drinks actually!

    tnx for the recommendation vern!

Leave a comment