The Star Trek Movie Franchise Part 4: The Voyage Home.

star-trek-tv-show-cbs-2017

For us U.S. citizens, today is the day Star Trek Beyond gets released in theaters.    I know there are many great British writers and readers who have already seen it.  So I’m curious to see how well it does.  Next week, I will be posting my views on the reboot series along with my thoughts on the third entry.  I thank you again for reading and I apologize for not responding quickly to your comments.  I should be fully back next week.

 

Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.

Cast: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Catherine Hicks

Writers: Harve Bennett, Leonard Nimoy(story). Steve Meerson, Peter Krikes, Nicholas Meyer, Harve Bennett(screenplay)

Director: Leonard Nimoy

*** and a 1/2 *’s out of four.

star-trek-the-voyage-home

Hovering above the planet Earth there is a probe that is sending out a strong,distressing signal.  This signal is so strong that it’s causing catastrophic storms on the planet, and destroying power on a lot of ships too.  Spock(Leonard Nimoy) does some investigating and discovers that the signal matches the songs of humpback whales(who are now extinct). The crew decides, well at least Kirk(William Shatner),and Spock, decide that these mammals will help communicate with this probe and help send it away. At least “Bones” aka Dr. Mcoy(DeForrest Kelly) questions the logic of this trip.  Usually it’s Spock who questions the reason and the irony of the situation was very funny. In order to achieve this feat, they must go back in time to the year 1986 to find these creatures and then beam them aboard the ship to send them back to the future. Cue  the Huey Lewis and The News “Back in Time” track.
startrekiv06

This was my very first introduction to Star Trek and was the only movie I remember seeing in theaters when I was a kid.  I had no desire to see any of the other movies before watching this one(Blasphemy, I know).But for some reason the story of this one was really interesting.  The concept of sending this crew from an advance future civilization back to the 80’s was a lot of fun then and it still holds up today.  Seeing the crew members interact with the people and culture of that time brings a lot of humor to the story.  In fact this movie is the most comedic one out of all of them.  Which is why I love it the most, but I can understand why it would bother some fans.  Watching your heroes become comedic archetypes has gotta be somewhat annoying. Yet their humor never differs from their actual persona.  They all act and behave the same way they would if they were back in their own time.  It’s just seeing them in a whole new world that makes it funny for me.

Star-Trek-IV-Still-1

The majority of this movie does take place in San Francisco so if you are looking for space adventures you may be disappointed.  This is not your typical Star Trek storyline which is why I love it.  In order of favorites it would go. Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, Star Trek III:The Search For Spock, and then Star Trek: The Motion Picture.  I do plan on checking out the last two adventures of the USS Enterprise and may even review the films of the Next Generation maybe later on.   Until next time dear readers keep reaching for the stars. I don’t know why I went with a quote by Ed McMahon from Star Search, but it seemed to be the right thing to do and the tasty way to do it.  Damn you Willford Brimley and your Quaker Oatmeal taglines.

Next week, I’ll be looking at the reboot movies.  Have a great weekend


Great Blooper Reel.

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Star Trek Movie Franchise Part 4: The Voyage Home.

  1. ninvoid99 says:

    I do like this film a lot. Notably the banter between Spock and Bones where the former is still trying to get a grip on himself and the latter wanting to renew that banter as it becomes fun towards the end.

  2. Zoë says:

    Ah, this movie is awesome and super hilarious! Definitely one of my favourites from the films!

  3. Keith V. says:

    First off, thanks for not including Star Trek V on your list. It was a pretentious mess that bombed and I’m surprised it didn’t end the movie franchise. I was a little surprised that you did not include Star Trek VI on your list of “best Trek” as many others have. I personally agree with your decision to omit it as that movie was an often simplistic and utterly bittersweet goodbye to the classic lineup of actors–all of whom deserved a better farewell vehicle for their characters.

Leave a Reply

