Even More Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac

Damn damn damn, does it feel like a long time has passed since I wrote one of these recaps.   I started working back at my job again which doesn’t leave me a whole lot of time to write reviews like I want or even see  as many movies I would like.   I also have been hosting and editing episodes of Film Pasture and Cinema Recall podcasts and many of those have taken up a lot of my time too.     Here are a few movies I have watched so far

Alien Covenant

I this prequel to the hit franchise.  A group of scientists visit a planet and are soon visited by a group of acid spitting…..Wait a minute.  Did I just get duped into watching Alien again.   NO NO NO.  That is not right, because the first Alien is awesome and this was sort of Meh.  None of the characters are worth remembering.  Danny McBride and Michael Fassbender are the only cast members who are actually worth watching.

 

Logan

Give Oscars to Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart because they are amazing in this film.  Hell even the little girl whose name I forget is also really good.  In this feature.  SPOILER ALERT.  Several years , and all of the mutants from The X-Men Film are dead.  Only Wolverine and Professor X remain.  Wolverine finds a girl with similar mutant abilities  that he must deliver safely to a compound with other kids like her.  It is  ranked among the best super hero films, next to The Dark Knight, Spider-Man 2, Deadpool, Howard The Duck.. Just kidding on the last one

 

A Monster Calls

A young boy is going through the painful ordeal involving a loved one and his pain and torment manifests itself into a monster.   Felicity Jones Liam Neeson , Sigourney Weaver and newcomer  Lewis MacDougal are all really good in this.   The emotions that every actor expresses is real and heartfelt.  I wish this had a bigger theatrical release

 

Christine (2016)

Rebecca Hall shines in this true story of famed reporter, Christine Chubbuck.  It’s a great movie that deals with the sensitive topic of mental illness and depression.  With the recent passing of Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington.  This movie is just as important to watch.  Hall was robbed of an Oscar nomination

 

Peggy Sue Got Married

At a high school reunion, Kathleen Turner gets knocked on the head and is transported back to the 60’s.  There she is being wooed all over again by the man(Nicholas Cage) who would eventually break her heart.    Francis Ford Coppola directs this time travel comedy that is light hearted fun.  It’s fun seeing how one would react knowing what they know now.  it’s just the ending comes a little fast and I feel that her choices are kind of dumb. This also features a young Sofia Coppola as her kid sister.

 

Suspect

Cher plays a public defender to Liam Neeson who is accused of killing a women.  All the evidence points to him, but this lawyer believes that he is innocent.  With the help from Dennis Quaid, she investigates to find who the real culprit is.   For  most of it’s running time.  I was enjoying this quite a bit.   Not the story, which was kind of predictable, but I did enjoy the acting.  Especially,the ones in the court room.  But when the real killer is revealed the movie ends.  I wanted there to be a bigger build up to the reveal and there wasn’t

 

Spider-Man: Homecoming

This one felt like a longer episode of a Spider-Man TV show that would have premiered after Buffy The Vampire Slayer if this came out in the 90’s.   I think Tom Holland is a really good Spider-Man/Peter Parker  but we never get any sense of the torment that character has.   The story with his uncle is completely ignored, and while I’m glad they didn’t do another origin story.  I think they should at least mention it was because of Peter’s actions that his uncle was killed.    Michael Keaton as the arch enemy The Vulture was interesting but I would have much rather see him as Birdman fighting Spider-Man.  Some of the fight sequences could have used a better editor because I feel there were just too many cuts.  Especially the ones on top of a plane and the last one between Vulture and Spider-Man  I don’t know quite how to take having a hot Aunt May(Marissa Tomei) but that’s for another post.

 

The Girl With All The Gifts

This is a great movie I highly recommend but I don’t want to spoil anything by describing too much of the plot.   All I’ll say is that it’s set in an alternate future where many kids are kept caged up in this compound.  This is because of a disease that effects the youth.  You see whenever kids get the smell of human skin.  They turn into flesh eating zombies.   Only one girl is able to control her blood lust and may be a cure for all humanity.  Seenia Nanua is really good in the lead role.    This was by far one of the best recent zombie movies.   It’s not as good as Train to Bussan, but it’s damn good

 

Train to Bussan

This movie may be the best zombie movie ever made.   It deserves to be up there with the original trilogy the late George A Romero made.   It is way better then the last 3 seasons of The Walking Dead combined.   A father must take his estranged daughter back to her mother aboard a train that gets attacked by a swarm of  zombies.  If the premise makes you groan, stick with it.  No other zombie or any other recent horror film has hit me on  such an emotional level like this movie did.   I never cried during a horror film and several times this movie brought me to that level.  If your movie can do that.  Hell yeah you are a winner

 The Money Pit

Shelly Long and Tom Hanks play a couple who think they are buying their dream home for a great price.  But when they move in the house begins falling apart.  It’s a very fun film and the chemistry between Long and Hanks as they fix up their home has a lot of humor and charm.  The Money Pit also features  Alexander Goudnov as the ex husband to Shelly Long’s character.  If you don’t know who this actor is.   He played Karl in Die Hard.  He is the blonde hair guy whose brother got killed and was giving an awesome sweater that explained McClaine now had a machine gun.   Ho Ho Ho

 

The Beguiled

Sofia Coppola directs this adaptation of a Thomas P. Cullinan novel that was once a movie directed by Don Siegel and starred Clint Eastwood.  In Coppola’s version Collin Farrell is a wounded Soldier who is taken in by an all girl school.   Since he is the first man these girls have seen in a while.  Many of them have their own different views about  him.   Some see him as a way of escaping, others see him as the father figure they never had, and some see him as a way of expressing their sexual desires.  The trailers make this look like it’s gonna be a horror thriller, which it’s not.   Elle Fanning, Kirstin Dunst, Nicole Kidman, and the others are great as the women in the home.   The slow pace style works great, but I think I need to rewatch this another time before I can give any really good thoughts about it.  It may also help if I watch the other film and read the book too.

 

 

Damn that was a lot of features and that doesn’t even account for the rewatches and TV shows I  recently watched, but I will save that for another post.  Thanks for reading everyone.  Have a great weekend.

 

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Even More Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac

  1. movierob says:

    got some great recommendations here thanks Vern!

  2. Chris says:

    Adding Train to Bussan to my list based on your recommendation. Agree Rebecca Hall was great in Christine (2016) and an engaging movie, though at times I did think the dialogue was too spelled-out and unsubtle.
    The other film about her (Kate Plays Christine) I got bored with and is not worth your time. I read footage of Chubbuck’s controversial moment was recently put on YouTube, then taken down. Some say was a fake video of the 1974 broadcast. Who knows!

    • The Vern says:

      Thank you so much for adding Train to Bussan to your list. That ending ….I cant say anything because I dont want to spoil it, but …So good
      I have not seen the other film about Chubbuck and did not know there was one. Still tragic though

  3. Keith says:

    Lots of good ones in that group. About Spidey: Homecoming, I’m glad some others shared my frustrations with the movie. Train to Bussan is tremendous. It actually made my Top 10 from last year. Yes! Rebecca Hall was robbed of an Oscar or at the very least a nomination. I’m a big fan of The Beguiled. It kind of caught me off guard. Really well done movie.

    • The Vern says:

      Thanks Keith. Maybe the Academy has a hard time with controversial figures getting the spotlight, i don’t know. Christine Chubbuck’s on air suicide maybe was too much of a downer that most voters avoided the movie. Speaking of Oscars. I expect Sofia and The Beguiled to be nominated

Leave a Reply

