Please Vote The Neon Demon as June’s MOTM at The LAMB

Hello everyone.

The Vern here to ask for your help in getting Nicholas Winding Refn’s visual epicness that is The Neon Demon, to be June’s Movie Of The Month  over at The LAMB (aka The Large Association of Movie Blogs)  This movie has been divided among many film lovers.  While some love it’s striking visuals and over the top story.  Others feel that it’s nothing more but style over substance.

I will admit I didn’t know what to make of this film when I first saw it, as this conversation with my brain and I will explain.

https://videovortex.wordpress.com/2016/06/25/the-vern-and-his-brain-try-to-make-sense-of-the-neon-demon/

I have seen it a few times since and am still not 100 % sure of what it all really means in term of symbolism, but I will give you a quick recap of the plot.  Yes there will be SPOILERS.  You have been warned.

A young girl goes to LA to become a model.  A few of her peers get jealous of her success and they eat her.  Yes, I know there is a lot more to it than that, and I’ve not even scraped at any of the themes that it tackles. it’s been shown to be a statement about how we view beauty and the corruption of the innocent on how we value looks over everything else.    It also could be interrupted as a B Movie made on a A  budget.  The idea of a young girl coming to LA and then seeing all the horrors city life has is nothing new, but The Neon Demon does things very different with that plot.

All of the other nominees in this category are good, and in some ways are much better then the one I’m submitting.  But as a fan of film I’m drawn more to the conversations where critics don’t agree with each other and with a 57% rating on Rotten Tomatoes.(Yes, I know most people don’t even really care about that)  I think a discussion about this movie will be extremely engaging.What’s more fun to listen to, a show where everyone agrees or one with opposing viewpoints.   If you want to listen to a podcast that features a nice debate instead of a circle jerk.  Vote The Neon Demon to be The LAMB’s Movie of The Month.

Vote Here

http://www.largeassmovieblogs.com/2017/05/vote-for-june-2017s-movie-of-the-month.html

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Please Vote The Neon Demon as June’s MOTM at The LAMB

  1. Jay says:

    I voted too. This movie’s a real doozie and I think we all need all the help we can get.

  2. Chris says:

    Even if Neon Demon remains on 57% on Rotten Tomatoes, it doesn’t matter, because I think it’s destined to become a cult classic.

    • The Vern says:

      Thanks Chris. I think the movie has a lot of weight for discussion. I just hope there is an equal amount of haters and lovers of this flick on the show.

Leave a Reply

