The Vern goes on a Vacation and visits the Sia.

 

 

 

lw5AGkM

The laptop I use to write most of my posts and do any of the podcasting is right now being repaired.  I have also been asked by friends of mine to watch their home while they are away in Florida for the next few weeks.  I want to take this time to work on outlining a new script and work on setting up new seasons of As  You Watch and Film Pasture Podcasts  I will continue to visit every one of your sites and read your reviews as much as I can, but I don’t plan on being fully back towards September.

sia-alive-c-a-vous-performance-reaper-kanye

Lately at the theater I work at.  I have been noticing a lot of movies that feature the music of this particular artist during the end credits.  Not since Daft Punk became robots have I been interested in an artist who doesn’t like to show their face.

I became aware of this singer with her song. Breathe Me and unlike most other pop songs it’s sadness felt real and genuine.

 

The next song I heard was Chandelier and that one really impressed me.  For a pop song I was really glad that it’s lyrics talk about the downside of excessing too much. Too many songs focus on partying and drinking without mentioning the consequences.  It’s song is matched by it’s memorable video featuring dancer Maddie Ziegler

Now her songs have been used as the end music for each of these movies.

 

Bird Set Free –The Shallows.

the-shallows-435

This was a very enjoyable 90 minutes of a woman trying to survive her ordeal with a shark but to be honest.  I mainly watched this to see Blake Lively in a bikini.

Blake

Still I was impressed over all by this feature.  The Shark effects looked good, Blake’s character made reasonable choices.  I hated that once it ended the tacked on another ending that was worthless but it was a fun flick and I kind of dug Sia’s song at the end.

Unforgettable -Finding Dory.

Finding Dory

Sia takes on the Nat King Cole classic Unforgettable for this Disney/Pixar undersea flick.  I have not yet seen the movie about I really do like her take on this song.

 

Waving Goodbye – The Neon Demon.

neon-demon-final-poster

Nicholas Winding Refn’s new film on the dangers of beauty  gets a nice ending track. This may be my favorite end credit song from this artist

Be nice to eachother while I’m gone and I hope you have a great month.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Vern goes on a Vacation and visits the Sia.

  1. ruth says:

    Have a great time in Florida, but watch out for the ‘gators Vern! How nice to have friends who ask you to watch their home, wish I had one of those, ahah. Cheers man.

Leave a Reply

