The Vern’s 20 Favorite Scenes in Movies. Vol 2

theater

Many movies that get released have that one moment that makes them stand out an become iconic.  Even if the whole movie itself is bad, it can still be iconic with just that one scene.  Last year I created a list of my 20 favorite scenes in movies and you can read that list by clicking here .  Today I am back with a whole new list of great movie moments .  Which ones made the list this time?  Let’s go find out.

20.
True Lies.  1994

In this classic scene, Jamie Lee Curtis’ character has been bribed by the feds to plant a bug at a guy’s hotel room, not knowing this whole charade was set up by her husband (Arnold Schwarzenegger).  This is a great scene because it’s both very sexy and very funny.  James Cameron needs to stop dicking around with 3D and get back to being a great storyteller.

19

Videodrome.  1982

Max (James Woods) is all set to relax one night and watch a little T.V.  The odd thing is that the TV itself comes to life and he ends up making out with it.  “Videodrome” by David Cronenberg has other really odd moments, but this one just stands out the most for me.

18.

The Little Mermaid.  1989

I might get a lot of flack for saying this, but I really liked this movie.  This is a movie my sister would watch constantly and I ended up really appreciating the hell out of it.  The animation is beautiful and the songs are really good.  I plan to get a Blu-Ray of this shortly, because this would look amazing in 1080P.

17.

Before Sunrise.  1995

Never before, or since, have I seen a movie that captures what it is like to fall in love with someone.  Both “Before Sunrise” and “Before Sunset” show this evolution of two people (Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke) who were meant to be together.  I usually don’t like romantic movies, but I love this one.

16.

The Shining.  1980

It’s hard for me to to pick just one scene from this movie, so I’m sure you will find other scenes being featured in the future.  In this scene,Wendy(Shelly Duvall) has just discovered Jack Torrence’s (Jack Nicholson) work on his latest novel and learns some horrifying truths about the man she thought she knew. The acting from both Duvall and Nicholson are amazing and the way Kubrick moves the camera along with them is really top notch.

15.

Let The Right One In.

!!Spoilers!!
This is the last scene in the movie, but you don’t really need to see the rest of the movie to understand what is going on. A young boy is being picked on by some bullies and things are looking quite bad for him. I sure hope he has a friend that can help out. This is both grotesque and extremely beautiful.

14.

Network.  1976

I know I could have put the “I’m Mad As Hell” speech on here and it would have been just fine, because that is a classic scene.  However, this one seems to be more relevant – especially today.  It’s so scary how accurately this movie predicted what our society would look like.

13.

The Bad Seed: 1956

A little girl kills one of her classmates and tries to cover it up in this very creepy thriller.  Don’t disparage these older movies because they don’t have tons of gore.  Sometimes scenes can be scary just by the sheer tension of the dialogue itself.  I would love to see a modern remake of this, because the ending of the original one is a cop out and a new version would remove that aspect for sure.  I’m not going to tell you what it is, because it’s a damn good movie that you should watch.  In fact, a double feature with this and “We Need To Talk About Kevin” would be a great creepy kid night.

12.

Wild at Heart: 1990

Damn, this is one messed up scene.  It belongs on this list because of the way it really disturbed me.  Both Laura Dern and William Dafoe are great in this because of the way your emotions change when watching the scene.  I still don’t know if she actually was becoming aroused or not, but it’s still an effective moment.

11.

Spring Breakers 2013

In my opinion, this is one of the best party gangster movies since Scarface(which should be watched on repeat) This montage set to the music of Britney Spears is one of my favorite moments.

10.

Little Shop of Horrors. 1986

When I was a kid I used to watch this movie a lot and today it still is a lot of fun. It was difficult choosing the best song but I think this one shows the great singing talents of the main cast

9.

Back to the Future 1985

There are many iconic moments from this movie, but this stands out as one of the best. George McFly(Crispin Glover) never once stood up for himself, so to see him do this and protect the woman he loves was a huge deal. We are all going to have bullies at one one moment or another.  It’s how we handle them that will effect our lives.

8.

Ghostbusters. 1984

When I was a kid , there was a lot of things that went way over my head when I watched this.  I never knew why that one girl ghost was unbuckling Ray’s(Dan Ackroyd) pants in that one montage scene, until many years later. When Dana(Sigourney Weaver) tells Peter(Bill Murray) that she wants him inside her. When I was seven seeing this in theaters. I just thought it meant she wanted him to possess her, and become a monster too. The scene has great chemistry between the two actors and the practical effects are a lot of fun too. Ghostbusters is rated PG, but it’s the kind of 80’s rating that sadly would not work today. I feel like too many groups would take issue with the sexual references and force MPAA to give it a PG-13 rating. The recent remake should really be PG, Most of the jokes would go over the kid’s head.

7.

Jaws 1975

This is one of the most terrifying scenes and it’s done without a single image of the actual killing. Of all the movies, I’ve seen. This one still freaks me out.

6.

Muppets Take Manhattan 1984

I don’t know why but this moment always makes me shed a tear when I watch it. They are freaking puppets and their eyes never once blink but damn it. When Fozzie ends the song and says he wants to cry, I almost lose it.

5.

Run Lola Run 1998

This is the best adaptation of a video game that is not based on any actual property. When Lola(Franka Potente) runs out the door after she chooses who she can ask money for. I start reaching for the controller, and than realize I don’t own a game system. It has this great sense of energy and it makes me to want to start running again.

4.

Paprika 2006

This is the credit sequence for Satoshi Kon’s final feature and it looks very cool. This opening montage matches the story of this device where people can travel into eachothers’ dreams.

3.

Drive 2011

This scene has a whole mixture of emotions that are rolled into one. It starts of as suspenseful, turns romantic, switches to horrific and then becomes tragic. All set within a confined space and it is brilliant.

2.

Flirting With Disaster 1996

This is the perfect example of a good cast combined with a great script and a good director and just seeing what wonders will unfold. This comes from Director David O Russell and it may be one of the best comedies ever made. The entire cast is perfect and everyone in it steals every scene that they are in. I could put many other scenes in this and it would still be great.

1.

The Iron Giant 1999

!!SPOILERS!!

This is the final scene from this animated classic of a boy who discovers a robot in his home town during the late fifties. A lot of people during this era feared what they did not understand. So when a big giant metal man shows up, many feared that he was a weapon designed by the commies to invade the US. This moment when the robot(Vin Disel)chooses to help save the town is incredibly heart felt and I do tear up every time I watch it.

What are some of your favorite scenes in movies? Let me know in the comments below

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Vern’s 20 Favorite Scenes in Movies. Vol 2

  1. Keith says:

    Wow. A ton of variety here. Several are ones I would consider. Seeing Videodrome included was really cool.

  2. ninvoid99 says:

    The True Lies scene is such a turn-on and Mary Tyler Moore in a bra is hot. These are excellent choices.

  3. Zoë says:

    Okay, that Drive elevator scene gives me goosebumps each and every single time without fail. Awesome picks!

  4. Brittani says:

    Great selection! My kid has been watching the Iron Giant over and over lately, so it was funny to see it here. I still need to see Videodrome. That’s in my Netflix queue.

  5. ruth says:

    Awesome picks Vern! I love the variety and the inclusion of that Little Mermaid scene. It’s one of my all time fave Disney flicks. I did a similar post a long time ago (in 2 posts) http://wp.me/pxXPC-6O and those scenes still hold up! 🙂

  6. Khalid Rafi says:

    That elevator scene from Drive is EVERYTHING! So incredibly well-executed.

  7. emmakwall says:

    Verny this is such a great post! Really inspired list, some great and eclectic scenes, really great. I personally believe The Little Mermaid has a genuine place there too 🙂

    Keep these coming!

  8. vinnieh says:

    I just love how varied all the scenes are here Vern. You went right across the genres.

  9. dbmoviesblog says:

    Very nice list. I particularly like the Back to the Future scene and Paprika’s opening credits are just amazing! If I were to make a similar list, it will probably have a lot of ending sequences, such as that in Inception, Shawshank Redemption or the Usual Suspects. I can re-watch those endlessly.

Leave a Reply

