The Vern’s 10 Favorite Female Singers.

 

Bubblegum crisesI’m keeping the post very simple and not going to put any explanation into why I think each lady in this list are simply phenomenal.  It’s really hard to even number them because in my mind they are all just amazing and their voices are just so damn good.  Every time I hear them sing, I get chills.  Yes I know I have forgotten one or two of your favorite ladies  but it wasn’t easy to include every single one on this list.  So please tell me some of your favorite female singers in the comments below.  

 

10.

Karen O – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

9.

Kim Gordon – Sonic Youth

 

8.

Amanda Palmer

 

7.

Alison Goldfrapp – Goldfrapp

 

6.
Fiona Apple

5.

Shirley Manson – Garbage ( I apologize if the quality is a bit choppy.  YouTube didn’t have a good version available)

4.

Kate Bush

 

3.

Beth Gibson – Portishead

 

2.

Natasha Khan – Bat For Lashes.

1.

Tori Amos.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Music in Motion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Vern’s 10 Favorite Female Singers.

  1. emmakwall says:

    Nice selection Verny 🙂

  2. TheMarckoguy says:

    This is a good list, man. I think my favorite female singer might be Joan Jett.

  3. Keith says:

    Good stuff man. But where is Ann Wilson???

  4. Jay says:

    I can’t argue with any of these.

  5. Chris says:

    I’m also a fan of some of those singers, particularly number 4-7. What did you think of Garbage’s new LP Strange Little Birds? You can read my review of it on RYM, alias is mas365: https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/garbage/strange_little_birds/

  6. ruth says:

    Awesome list, Vern! I have to say I’m not familiar w/ many of these as I actually don’t listen to contemporary music much. I do love Shirley Manson’s voice. Garbage’s Bond song “The World Is Not Enough” is one of the few good things about that movie!

    P.S. I might steal your idea for a list here, though my list will be quite different 🙂

  7. ninvoid99 says:

    Oh, I do love this list. I like all of these choices. I saw Bat for Lashes back in 2009 at a club show as it was a really good show though it was different from what I was used to since I often go to NIN concerts. I’ve seen the YYYs twice in 2003 and 2006 as both shows were great. I really hope they return and come out with a new album as the last one was alright but a major step down from It’s Blitz! which I think is their best work.

    • The Vern says:

      OOOh I am jealous you got to attend Bat for Lashes concert. Yeah Yeah Yeah needs another good rock album like their debut

      • ninvoid99 says:

        Oh and here’s something else. While I was waiting in line for the Bat for Lashes show with other fans. Natasha Khan and her then-guitarist Charlotte Hatherley (formerly of Ash) walked by past us as they were getting into the venue.

  8. Jess says:

    Guess this is my afternoon playlist! My favorites are Karen O, Jenny Lewis, Emily Haines (from Metric), Regina Spektor, Victoria Legrand (from Beach House), and Zooey Deschanel (I love She & Him). I’m generally more drawn to female vocalists.

  9. The Vern says:

    Those are great choices. I love Emily Haines, I cant believe I didn’t include her on this list. Us from Regina Spektor is a classic song and I have mad love for Zooey. Ive never heard of Beachouse but will check those ones out soon

Leave a Reply

