The Vern’s favorite movies he can watch again and again. Vol 1

Appeared previously on The Vern’s Videovangaurd. So sections of text may appear smaller than others and wordpress doesn’t have an option to change the text size.

favorite-movie

All of us have one or two favorite films that we love watching again and again.  These are just a few of the ones I can watch many times and not become bored once while watching them.  Although there are only ten on this list there are many others that I could enjoy just as much, but for right now.  Here it is.

10.

Waking Life.

waking-lifeThis animated movie from Richard Linklater is not going to be for everyone. Many of your are going to find some of the conversations boring. There is a lot of talk about philosophy, sociology, and of human emotions The story is of a young man(Wiley Wiggins) who after being hit by a car, travels from dream to dream having conversations with different individuals.  Many years ago I was in a serious car accident that I don’t remember.  In my mind I was on my way home and the only thing I can recall was that I hit a bump.  Having my mind go into this alternate reality was quite the trip and now here’s a movie that shows it.  Waking Life asks the question. If there is a way you can control your dreams at night couldn’t you control your actual life in the day as well. There is not a conventional plot in this and you may have to find your own which could turn a few of you away from this. This is a movie that will make you think a bit more than your use to.

One of my favorite moments is when the young man walks past a woman on the street(Tiana Hux) and they both give a general hi and go about their day. However the woman decides to go one step further and introduce herself to him and explain why she doesn’t want to feel like an ant. Here is her quote.

Tiana Hux: “Hey. Could we do that again? I know we haven’t met, but I don’t want to be an ant. You know? I mean, it’s like we go through life with our antennas bouncing off one another, continuously on an autopilot, with nothing really human required of us. Stop. Go. Walk here. Drive there. All action basically for survival. All communication simply to keep this ant colony buzzing along in an efficient, polite manner. “Here’s your change.” “Paper or plastic?’ “Credit or debit?” “You want ketchup with that?” I don’t want a straw. I want real human moments. I want to see you. I want you to see me. I don’t want to give that up. I don’t want to be ant, you know?”

Was Agent Smith who spoke to Morpheus in The Matrix correct. Are we are becoming more like insects and less like mammals.

9.

Pan’s Labyrinth

pans-labyrinth-ofeliaAs much as I loved Pacific Rim and The Hellboy movies.  Nothing will top Guillermo Del Toro’s masterpiece Pan’s Labyrinth, or as it is originally titled El Laberinto del fauno. This fable of a young girl’s adventure into becoming a princess is met with the gruesome violence of a civil war in Spain. The juxtaposition of both the fantasy and the reality and how they can sometimes merge is the main reason why I love this. As adults we lose the creativity and imaginations we once did as kids. It is important to keep that sense of curiosity and amazement alive in us.

 

8.

Blade Runner.

Blade_Runner_spinner_flybyWhen the director’s cut of Blade Runner was released I was 14. At the time I thought the visuals were incredible but I couldn’t get much into the story. It wasn’t until later when I saw all three other cuts of the movie and read the source novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep that I come to appreciate this innovated science fiction movie. Some people like the theatrical cut with Deckard’s narration and happy ending while others prefer the removal of both in later versions. It’s hard to say which version is my preferred choice because I enjoyed all of them and enjoy the choice of having different versions to choose from. If you are a first timer to Blade Runner I highly recommend the final cut version. If you like the movie, than I suggest you seek out the theatrical cuts. I might get some flack from some readers for saying this but Rick Deckard is Harrison Ford’s 2nd greatest character next to Indiana Jones.(Sorry Han Solo fans, but he was not the main character in that space tale and his suppourting turn was o.k. at best).

Artificial intelligence and replicants (a.k.a. cyborgs) are becoming less science fiction and more science fact. We can see a lot of that in our everyday living. We probably spend more time on our personal computers than we do actually speaking to someone. I’m sure the day we’ll come when we’ll no longer have to communicate with each other. We can just think it and have our thoughts uploaded to our Facebook and Twitter accounts.

Read my full review here

7.

Robocop.

robocop

A perfect satire of our obsession with consumerism and products (The Sux 6000). I also liked the message of politicians declaring war on something but only wanting to control it, not stop it. Of course all of these reasons were absent from me when I was just 11 years old, enjoying all the great action and humorous moments Robocop has. The scene where Ed 209 is introduced is a cinematic classic in its own right and I got the absurd humor of the violence even at a young age.

You can read my full review by clicking here

 

6.

Who Framed Roger Rabbit?

who framed roger rabbitWhile most boys my age were into Transformers and matchbox cars. I became obsessed with the world of Warner Brothers and  Looney Tunes. I liked how Bugs Bunny could get himself out of danger by using quick wit instead of a fast gun. The non speaking slapstick of the coyote chasing the road runner showed me a world in which natural physics laws need not applied. Who framed Roger Rabbit is a great salute to all of those cartoons I have loved.

The Live action blended with animation is flawless even by today’s standards. I found the mixture of slapstick /Tex Avery comedy and the hard boiled/Dashiell Hammet mystery quite creative. This is classic film noir, but with an occasional banana creme pie in the face every once in a while.

Read my full review here

 

5.

Little Miss Sunshine

little-miss-sunshineThe best move of a family unit that I have ever seen on screen is Little Miss Sunshine. The Hoover family even beats out the Griswold’s in National Lampoon’s Vacation as the best movie about a family on a road trip. Both movies had a lot of great laughs but L.M.S. has more emotion and a big heart. Some reviews I read commented of the family being dysfunctional. I tend to think they function very well. Each member of the family have some issues that they have difficult dealing with themselves, but when they are together they don’t think about just themselves and become more of a unit.

The cast is one of the best ensemble s since Glengarry Glen Ross The screenplay by Michael Ardnt is brilliant at letting a lot of the humor appear somewhat shocking at first but never offensive. Although this movie is rated R, kids over the age of twelve are o.k. to watch this. Trust me there are more offensive things mentioned in most sitcoms than there are in this.

 

4.
North by Northwest.

north by northwestHitchcock’s tale of mistaken identity is so perfect in its character and plot development that if this were to be released today. It would have been a hit now as it was then. Roger O Thornhill (Cary Grant) has been confused with someone named George Kaplan and is on the run from foreign spies who want to kill him, cops who want to put him in jail, and a mysterious blonde named Eve Kendell (Eva Marie Saint) who just plain wants him. James Bond and Jason Bourne owe this movie a lot of thanks for help starting and making popular the spy genre as well as the mistaken identity picture. There are no slow moments in this movie and each scene builds from each other like a perfect puzzle.

 

3.

Heathers

HeathersEmbed1 (1) I’m sure many of you have a movie that helped define you high school years. For me that movie was Heathers. Now I’m sure a lot of you are probably going to assume that I did not like High School and that’s not  true. My opinion of high school was that it’s a job. There were days that were very good and days that were not so good. Did you enjoy every single day at your job, probably not.

 

This dark comedy about teen suicide is a perfect satire on trends and the fake importance of fitting in amongst our peers. The cast including Winona Ryder, Christian Slater, and Shannon Doherty are just perfect. The screenplay from Daniel Waters boasts some of the most creative one liners ever put on film. Here is one of my favorite quotes from the movie

Veronica: “Dear Diary: Heather told me she teaches people “real life.” She said, real life sucks losers dry. You want to fuck with the eagles, you have to learn to fly. I said, so, you teach people how to spread their wings and fly? She said, yes. I said, you’re beautiful.”.

In a few years a lot of teen comedies will seem dated and old, but not Heathers it will always be daring and thought provoking no matter what generation finds it.

Read my full review here

 

2.

Requiem for a Dream.

requiemThere are a lot of moments I remember in the theater, but none have hit me on such a emotional and visual overload than Requiem for a Dream. Well I didn’t watch it in theaters but was able to get a copy before it got released on video(yes VHS was still around back than). My dad had a home theater built on the side of his house and the two of us watched it together. I’m not sure how he felt about it, but I was completely blown away by it. It was almost like I was taking drugs. There is first the enjoyment and then the inevitable downfall While some movies about drug use focuses on the wacky misadventures after taking drugs.(Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas) and others treat drug use as a tragedy throughout(Less Than Zero). This is one movie that focuses more on the character and the reasons of their addiction. It goes deeper into saying that we are all addicts in one way or another. Some people are addicted to facebook and red bulls while others are addicted to online computer gaming and smoking. I’m not saying that heroin is like the need to watch the super bowl, but I’m pretty sure the withdrawal effects of both would be pretty similar although less tragic in the case of not being able to watch the game.

The visuals in this movie are astounding although many will just dismiss it as MTV style quick cuts. There are some disturbing elements in this movie, but this is the kind of movie that should be shown to anyone who is thinking of doing drugs. This is the most effective Anti drug movie and one of cinema’s most treasure works ever put on screen.

 

1.

Pulp Fiction.

pulp fictionI have always been a casual fan of movies before Tarantino entered my life. I would go out and see a bunch of movies but would not really pay attention to those who were involved in the project. That all changed after I witnessed Pulp Fiction in theaters. I have never seen anything like it on screen before. The way the stories were separate and then became part of the full complete story was brilliant. The clever dialog spoken by the characters were just brilliant and I have quoted many of those lines with my friends after seeing this. This is the only movie to this day I have watched more than once in theaters. Infact I am sure I have watched it at least 5 times in regular theaters and even more when it got to the cheap theaters. I remember going with my friends and we would just repeat the dialog throughout the whole movie. I wasn’t bored of it than and I am not bored of it now. Since Pulp Fiction I have become more involved with movies and I take great care to see other movies from writers, directors and even cinematographers I appreciate and respect, I also like discovering one actor in a small but memorable role in one movie and than seeing him or her as the lead of another movie.

What are some movies you could watch again and again and not get bored? Let me know in the comments and have a great holiday

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Vern’s favorite movies he can watch again and again. Vol 1

  1. Most of this list I’m fully on board with, but you can really watch Requiem For a Dream again and again? I think the film is stunning, but I still haven’t worked up the courage for a second viewing, let alone multiple 🙂

    • The Vern says:

      It may seem strange but I do enjoy putting on Requiem if I had a stressed out day. I find it actually helps relax me. Like a beautiful nightmare

  2. Nice post! Several of these titles I’ve watched repeatedly as well, and many are among my favorites. There are a couple of titles I probably wouldn’t watch again, but overall, it’s a very solid list. Good job, Vern!

  3. Interesting; I saw “Requiem” for the first time a few days ago – loved it!
    My most rewatchable movies are “Sideways” (small central cast, intelligent dialogue, always love watching it) and, maybe a bit more lowbrow, “Beavis and Butt-Head Do America” (always funny and so much fun to watch.)
    Great list – who wouldn’t want to watch “Roger Rabbit” over and over again?!

    • The Vern says:

      Oooh Sideways is a great movie. I enjoyed that one in theaters and would love to see that one again. Beavis and Butthead is actually pretty damn smart for a movie about 2 morons. Thanks for the comment

  4. polarbears16 says:

    I definitely have to watch Waking Life because I’m a huge fan of Linklater’s work. Been meaning to watch that.

    • The Vern says:

      Be sure to also check out A Scanner Darkly if you haven’t already. Waking Life has more in common with his debut feature Slacker. Thanks for visiting

  5. Zoë says:

    Absolutely awesome list here Vern! Love it!

  6. ruth says:

    Hi Vern! Cool idea for a list, and I’m sure each blogger will have a very different list. I think Blade Runner is the only one on here I don’t mind watching repeatedly. For me, it’d be a lot of period dramas on my list 🙂

  7. Keith says:

    What a fun list. Also a very diverse list. Several on the list would make mine as well. Blade Runner is a classic. I adore North By Northwest. Pan’s Labyrinth is wonderful. Robocop is a personal nostalgic favorite. Great list!

Leave a Reply

