REVIEW: We Need To Talk About Kevin

What happened in Orlando was indeed a tragedy and many people have their own theories about how and why it happened. Some feel that it’s a mental disorder while others want to label it as a religious attack. Some even blame the parents like in We Need to Talk About Kevin does. I will share my own thoughts about this movie later on, but right now. Marshall and The Movies writes an insightful and wonderful review of an important movie.

Marshall and the Movies

We Need To Talk About KevinI have somewhat a shameful bad habit as a critic – sometimes, I cannot bring myself to write about the movies that transfix my senses and command my thoughts. Look through my pages of reviews and see the scores of films at the top of the list – “Shame,” “Spring Breakers, “12 Years a Slave,” “American Hustle,” “The Big Short” – all without a formal review. It feels mostly rooted in a desire not to demystify the experience combined with a feebleness before the work. What good can my words really do in the face of such a colossus of art?

Tonight, I sat before my editorial calendar with a big gaping hole in my schedule. Nothing new left to review, nothing old particularly pertinent to a new release. What to write about, especially given the horrendous events dominating the news? (If you read this further out from publication and June 12…

View original post 1,075 more words

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: We Need To Talk About Kevin

  1. emmakwall says:

    Nice post Verny.

Leave a Reply

