The Vern decides to ‘Seize the Night’ and tell you about it.

Seize-the-Night-Poster-Web-SThe non stop dispute between vampires and werewolves rages on in this latest feature from Emma Dark.  I personally don’t understand why I would be rooting for one side over another.  Especially, since I most likely will be on either’s dinner menu.  If I had to choose, I would rather be food by a vampire because most of those ladies are pretty sexy.   They might make a meal out of me but they would(I hope) at least make a night out of it. This would include seducing me and making me dinner before I became theirs.  I may be going into this a bit much, I’m just saying if I had to choose a side.  It would be with vampires.

This new alliance would bold well with our main character Eva(Emma Dark).  She is a vampire who has just escaped from a Government research compound known as Cable 9 and is hell bent on getting revenge.  While meeting with her arms dealer Joe(Paul Ewen) she finds out that a werewolf named Tobias(Carey Thring) along with other pack and vampires are hot on her trail too.  It is soon revealed that the Government has developed a virus that can wipe out vampires from the rest of the world.  Will she be able to stop them in time.

STN-Emma-Dark-as-EVA-02

This short feature looks like the pilot episode of a really cool new web series.  I want to know more about these characters and what their connections are.  Why are other vampires after Eva as well as the werewolves.  Who is this Cable 9 and how did Eva escape from the compound.  There is a scene in a van with an older wolf and a younger one that has me confused. I know they play an important part but I don’t know what that is.

The direction by Emma Dark is pretty solid, with good acting all around by the main leads. The look of the film by cinematographers AJ Singh and Donato Cinicolo are also really good.  Since the whole film is set at night, it almost appear like it’s a black and white noirish mystery.  It would be kind of cool if the whole movie was done in that format. Although to be fair it kind of already is.

The only flaws I saw was when the movie kept showing me the time on screen and the crazy editing style of Eva’s flashback to her time at the compound.  That montage would have been better if it was not so frantic with it’s approach. Maybe for example by showing a pen, Eva remembers something horrible and all we hear is just screams.  Sometimes less is more.

You can view Seize The Night for free for a limited time by clicking the link here.  If you want to help support this feature, check out these sites

Official Website:  http://www.seizethenightfilm.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/seizethenightfilm

Twitter:   https://twitter.com/SeizeNight

Whiskey

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Vern decides to ‘Seize the Night’ and tell you about it.

  1. Jordan Dodd says:

    I’m with you on the time being shown and the erratic flashback, I didn’t like that. But otherwise it wasn’t too bad – the small combat part was pretty bad but I really liked the lighting/colours and also the soundtrack. Thanks for sharing mate!

  2. Jordan, im happy you really liked the soundtrack! Thank you for commenting 🙂 thank you for covering the film, The Vern!

    • The Vern says:

      Thank you very much for reading the review Eric. I am interested to hear what else you composed.

      Jordan. Thanks as always for commenting sir. I do appreciated it very much.

Leave a Reply

