The Vern makes a video of his Top 10 Movies of 2015

Best Of 2015 Banner

Hello everyone I apologize for being late with this post since everyone has already posted their picks already.   I was making a slideshow/video and was having problems with the editing site Loopster in getting it finished.  They offer ten minutes of space on their basic account. So I made a video just under that time limit, but the audio cuts off right before it reaches the end.  I went back, made some edits and brought the time down to  just a little over nine minutes but it cuts out even earlier then before. I have emailed them and they said they would look into it.  Well that was way over a week ago and I’m afraid if I wait too long.  This list would seem pointless.   So yeah, here it is and guess what, the whole  video is here without any cuts.  Problem is that  I put a text on screen apologizing for having it cut off early and if I change anything more.  I’m afraid more bad things will happen.  I’m still working out issues with my mic, so some sections are a little bit louder then others.  I plan on doing more of these videos. However I may just stick to doing ones where I talk live on camera instead.  Let me know what you think, and share your favorites from 2015.

I go into slightly more details on my top five favorites on a recent episode of  The LAMBcast.  Myself and other great critics talk about our favorites movies of last year, and it’s a lot of fun  To listen to the show, just click the link

LAMBcast #303: Best of 2015

 

I will be back next week with some more reviews until then have a great day.

Vern Drums 2

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Information, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Vern makes a video of his Top 10 Movies of 2015

  1. vinnieh says:

    Good to hear from you dude, great video.

  2. Veronika says:

    Great video! I really liked your top 10 picks – and thanks for bringing Bread and Butter to my attention. 🙂

  3. Hey Vern Great List and Great Video. Of course my list would be quite different, but I liked your comments and reasoning on each film. And I thought the video was done well. Each segment/film was the right length to be interesting, and not too long for the listener. My only advice on that would be to go to a music store and purchase a “P” screen for in between your mouth and the microphone – it stops the letter ‘p’ from ‘popping’ too loud. Betcha’ didn’t know I knew about music stuff like that – I was in a band for 30 years, lol. Clubbing, touring, recording ect…lol.

    • The Vern says:

      Thanks man, would love to see what made your list. The Mic I picked up was kind of cheap so yeah I will look for a “P” screen . What was the name of your band, and what did you play? Thanks for the info and for watching

      • In the 80’s I played with the hard rock band Ricochet (NY) (not the country band that came later on) and toured the club scene. In the 90’s I did some solo cds, kinda’ Satriani guitar stuff and in the late 90’s to early 2000’s I was in the metal band Skulgrinder. You can find cds on amazon and ebay – if you want to see or listen to a cut. Also, there’s some videos on youtube. As far as top 10 movies…I had been sick for much of the year, so I didn’t see many new films but i did like Ex machina quite a bit. I just would have had more horror on my list 🙂

  4. Chris says:

    Enjoyed your top 10 video! Loved Inside Out, that to me is a contemporary classic. Mad Max had sone great practical effects for sure. Sicario, I liked the beginning and ending, but I felt the middle was weaker. Straight Outta Compton I enjoyed, was educative and entertaining.

    • The Vern says:

      Appreciate the feedback Chris. I’ll haft to read your review of Sicario, Where was that film considered weak for you. Inside Out, Toy Story and Incredibles are my favorite Pixar Films

  5. Khalid Rafi says:

    Some great picks, a lot of which I love. Cant say the same for Straight Outta Compton tho, I did not get the hype for that film, but maybe thats because Ive never connected with their music in general

    • The Vern says:

      Fair point, if you’re not into the music of NWA it might be hard to really like the movie. I listened to it a lot when I was a kid because it was dangerous, and they talked about things I never knew about as a white kid from the suburbs.

Leave a Reply

