Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac. Part 16

 

fightclub

While being away from all of you for so long,  I did manage to keep myself entertained, and what follows is the end results.  I took in a few movies, read some good books and watched a few shows.

Books

Kick Ass Trilogy by Mark Millar, John Romita Jr

Kick Ass

I’m a huge fan of Matthew Vaughn’s adaptation.  So much that I bought the book for the 2nd volume before seeing the sequel. Since  I was disappointed with what was brought to the screen.  I thought it would be good idea to read all three books by Millar and Romita jr.  All  I gotta say is wow.  Don’t get me wrong I love what Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn did with their version, but these books are amazing.  I especially love how Katie and Dave’s relationship in the book ended up way better  then it did the film.  Also Red Mist’s story arch was better told in book form then it was the movie.

Girl in a Band by Kim Gordon

Kim_Gordon_-_Girl_in_a_BandI’m a huge fan of Sonic Youth.  I’m an even bigger fan of bassist and co singer Kim Gordon.  Her vocals to me are just amazing and kinda sensual.  When I heard she wrote a book I was very interested to read it.  Miss Gordon talks candidly about her marriage and separation from singer Thurston Moore.  It was also cool to read about the other guys she’s dated including film composer Danny Elfman.  I leave you with one of my favorite songs by her in Sonic Youth.

Car Sick by John Waters

Carsick

Filmmaker John Waters(Pink Flamingos, Serial Mom) decides to hitchhike from California to San Francisco and document his process.  The first section shows what would be the perfect trip.  The second is the really bad one, and the third is what actually happened.  It’s a really well written book that shows the bad and good of human interaction and it was a lot of fun to read

Movies

The Horror of Dracula

horror-of-dracula-1958

This was my first time seeing Christopher Lee portray the world famous blood sucker in this version from Hammer Films.  The set up is very much similar to other versions but in this one Jonathan Harker knows full well what Dracula is and intends to stop him.  However his plans fail and so it’s time for General Tarkin, umm I mean Professor Van Helsing(Peter Cushing) to stop this unholy creature.  I think this was the first Dracula picture in color, and if so I can understand why people at that time were a bit shocked by it’s content.  Today it’s a fun watch and I plan to see more, but it was nothing too special.

AntMan

AntmanIt was good but it wasn’t anything amazing.  A very typical Marvel movie that I will forget about in a week or two.  Paul Rudd did fine in the role, but I kind of wanted to see someone like Simon Pegg or even better Bruce Campbell take on the role instead.

Jordowsky’s Dune.

Jordowsky

Before David Lynch made his version of the famed Sci-Fi novel.  Alejandro Jordowsky was busy working with  H.R. Giger, Pink Floyd, and even Orson Wells to bring this story to the screen. Even though it never came to be.  A lot of the storyboards that were used would somehow be used for other more famous features.  It’s a very interesting movie for the first hour, and then after that.  All I got was an hour long complaint about how the studios didn’t want to take chance on a true artist and that they were scared.  Yeah, because he wanted to make it into an 8 hour long movie.  Can’t say I blame them, for being a little resistant

 

Flashdance

Flashdance

The only thing I knew about this movie at all was the music video Maniac by Michael Sembello.  I was three or four when this came out and I only remeber seeing Jennifer Beals dance around in tight clothes.   It  was a very nice thing, but I never once saw the actual film until last week.  In it she plays a construction worker who dances at what I think is a burlesque club.  She wants to be a serious dancer but is nervous about it.  She hooks up with one of the customers and through their love alone.  She is able to chase her dreams.  It’s a very forgetful movie, but that video is still a classic.  Todd in the Shadows did a whole episode dedicated to that song and artist which is a fun watch too.

Magic in the Moonlight

Magic in THe Moon

Colin Firth plays a magician who is sent to prove that Emma Stone doesn’t have psychic abilities in this comedy from Woody Allen.   The performances from Stone and Firth are fine, and it moves at a good enough pace.  I just wish the third act was edited a bit better.  Certain actions by characters felt a little too quick in order to speed the feature up a bit

Spectre.

bond-girl

The number one movie in America right now was just sort of bland for me.  I for one don’t quite like these new Bond films having a continuous story arch.  The old school ways were Bond has to face some crazed megalomaniac while also scoring with two girls(one of them becoming the villain half way through) is where I love these movies.  Spectre has no interesting bad guy.  Christoph Waltz is good, but he’s nothing great.  Lea Seydoux is fine and I hope that when people see this, they will see her in more movies.  But she’s nothing iconic either.  A better choice for that role would have been Monica Bellucci.  It would be great to have a Bond Girl who is in her fifties and still looks as good as she does.  After the awesome  pre credits intro I was bored throughout a lot of it and don’t even get me started on that fucking theme song either

Still Alice

Still Alice 2This is the movie that gave Julianne Moore her Oscar from last year.  Was it worth it?  Well yes and no.  Moore’s performance as a linguistics professor who is going through early stages of Alzheimer’s disease was a very good role and she deserves all the praise and recognition she did for that part.  But her win feels like one that was giving for her body of work and not for the role itself.  I thought her performance in Safe was a much better one and she wasn’t even nominated for that

TV

Jessica Jones

jessica-jones-netflix-poster

I’m only five episodes in but so far I am hooked.  Just like Marvel’s Daredevil.  This will be  a show I will binge on for this next week for sure.  Krysten Ritter is quite good in the lead role and so is David Tennant as the villain she is tracking.  If this was on regular TV I have a feeling it would be on HBO.  So far Marvel has does much better on Netflix then it does in theaters.

Check out the reviews  of Jessica Jones over at Channel Superhero

http://channelsuperhero.com/category/jessica-jones/

House of Cards Season 3

House of Cards

In this season Francis Underwood(Kevin Spacey) was made it to the White House and is now the President of the United States.  He is trying to pass his America Works program despite protests from Congress as well as trying to win a re-election too.  We already knew from previous seasons on how manipulative the guy can be.  But in this one he may not be the only dangerous man at the capital.  I don’t understand most of the political jargon that gets spoken but it’s still a cool show to watch mainly for the performances.  In one episode members of the band Pussy Riot made a cameo and that was cool to see.

Orphan Black

orphan black

This show is very good and even though I’m only a few episodes in from season 1.  I plan on buying every season from now on.  The story is about Sarah Manning(Tatiana Maslany) witnessing the suicide of a girl who looks very much like her.  She decides to take over her life and learns that she and others are part of a cloning experiment and that someone wants to kill them off. There is a way more I’m leaving out of my description because I am very new to the show  While watching  an episode, Maslany’s character visits a place called Bailey Downs.  I remember the director’s name saying that it was John Fawcett and then it hits me.  Bailey Downs is where the cult classic Ginger Snaps was set in and Tatiana was in the sequel Ginger Snaps:Unleashed.  She was very young in that movie but I remember her role being very good.   For Orphan Black she has to play a lot of different roles and keep them all separate.  It’s an amazing job and I’m shocked to see no Emmy nomination. Very excited to see how this all turns out.

 

Well December is a very busy month for me so I won’t be blogging too much on here.  Stay tuned for My best of  year lists in January.  Have a good week

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac. Part 16

  1. ninvoid99 says:

    I love Jodorwosky’s Dune as I would totally go see an 8-hour film version of what he would create. I too am a fan of Sonic Youth and it sucks the band broke up because of what Thurston did. I too had a thing for Kim Gordon, she’s so gorgeous.

    • The Vern says:

      Thank you Steven. I would sit through an 8 hour long film if the first 2 are really and I mean really good. Yes Kim Gordon is a babe, and Thurston is a moron for screwing that up

  2. Chris says:

    Horror of Dracula to me was a bit dated and tame. Agree was nothing special by todays standards. I realize Count Dracula is Lee’s signature role, the film unfortunately put me off delving into other Hammer horror. Oh well, I far prefer Dracula (1992).
    Spectre, I like your idea of having Bellucci swap roles w/ Seydoux, might have been interesting.

    I’ve yet to watch a film by John Waters, his work is on my to-do-list. Didn’t know he’s a published author as well.

  3. Sean says:

    You covered a lot of ground! I am really looking forward to watching Jessica Jones. Daredevil was great and I’m glad to hear Jessica Jones measures up so far.

  4. Jordan Dodd says:

    Glad you’re enjoying Orphan Black, it had me hooked from the start!

    • The Vern says:

      I’ve been going back and forth with watching Orphan Black and Jessica Jones. Both are good and plus a good looking woman never hurts

      • Jordan Dodd says:

        When i watched Orphan Black I thought the same as you… has this girl won an emmy or anything?? She ends up playing god knows how many different versions of herself, and has the acting chops to make them all distinct and unique characters. Awesome stuff. I haven’t heard of Jessica Jones, is that a new Netflix show?

  5. vinnieh says:

    You watched some good stuff Vern.

  6. It makes me happy that younger folk like yourself appreciate the genius that was Sonic Youth. I had the good fortune to see them perform three times during the Daydream Nation/Goo/Dirty era. If you’re just beginning to dig through the old Hammer flicks, check out the Frankenstein cycle starring Cushing. In my opinion, the Frankenstein flicks were superior to the Dracula ones. Watch them in sequence. While they don’t bend over backwards to maintain continuity between movies, Cushing owns it throughout, and the character has a wonderful evolution from the first to the last. And yes, Maslany is incredible on Orphan Black. I’m probably in the minority, but I’ve always thought Ginger Snaps 2 was an impressive sequel, largely because of Maslany. I’ve always wanted a sequel to that sequel that went forward following Ghost.

    • The Vern says:

      YES YES I so wanted the third Ginger Snaps movie to be all about Ghost. I will check out The Frankenstien movies when I can. I am kinda Jealous you got to see Sonic Youth during their prime years. But it’s still cool Thanks for visiting

Leave a Reply

