Jurassic World is one of the worst movies of the summer.

Jurassic World

Cast: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Vincent D’Onfrio.

Director: Collin Trevorrow

I got a free pass to check out this latest adventure, and now I wish I would have stayed at home.  How in the world could one of the best movies of all time sink so low.  Never in my life have I felt so ashamed for a movie series as I do this.  I can’t even blame the sequels because at least they had some consistency to them.  But this was just one of the most dumbest movies ever put on the screen…No, not really. Sorry but that was just a poor excuse to get you to click on this link.  To be honest I have not seen this latest entry in this franchise.  That’s not to say I won’t enjoy watching it, and then come back  and read all the great reviews for it from other great writers.   I just won’t be reviewing it for this site.  Now I know by me saying that.  I’m going to come off as some sort of film snob who only watches art house pictures, but no that is not it.  I just don’t want to review movies that already have a big fan base before it’s released.

audienceIf you think about it. Why should any of us write a review of
Jurassic World” or the next Marvel and DC feature, or any of the big YA adaptations.  Those movies already have their money by the time the first trailer is posted.  So I can’t really understand why we would want to give those movies any more advertisement.  They already have web trailers ,TV spots,tie in commercials with happy meal toys, billboards and a whole shit load more.  Why should I spend time and give them an extra plug. It doesn’t even matter if the movie is bad or not.  It’s still going to make all of it’s money back.  The reviews could say that that the next “Star Wars” is a disaster.  But it won’t matter because people have already bought their ticket and that one hasn’t even been released yet.  Now that’s not to say I won’t ever review big movies. There have been a lot of great gems from the studio system  and as much as we like to complain that Hollywood doesn’t make any original flicks any more.  It’s only a fairly small percentage.   It just seems to me like we are doing the work for these studios whenever we write up these reviews.  Not just for the movies themselves, but there have been reviews on trailers and on image stills too.  It’s great that people are excited and want to communicate their love about a movie they like to the masses.  I just feel like some of the independent movies that are good and have original stories.  They don’t have the chance to reach as many people, because they don’t have the budget like the big studios do.  Since everyone has a computer, it’s easier to reach the masses with a well known property.  Rather then one that is not.  I do like that a lot of indie filmmakers are taking notes and have applied similar tactics and have had bloggers write up posts about their trailers and casting news.

holding-moneySo what do you think.  Are we just giving these big movies free advertisements with our reviews and posts. Or are we giving them serious critiques and opinions   Let me know what you think in the comments.  Have a great weekend everyone, I love you.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Information, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Jurassic World is one of the worst movies of the summer.

  1. emmakwall says:

    Haha you had me fooled Verny!!!

    And I know what you mean about reviewing the big fan movies.

  2. emmakwall says:

    Some of my favourite films are little indie efforts! And when compared to some of the shit they roll out the box office each year….. And I’m the least snobby person EVER! I just like watching stuff that’s different. Not all big budget and CGI.

  3. theipc says:

    I don’t really write about the big movies because what could I say that hasn’t already been said? Plus, it takes me about a month from watching to posting so there’s that…….. I probably won’t even see the new dinosaur movie until it’s on demand anyway….

    • The Vern says:

      Exactly Eric, Sometimes I watch a lot of movies just to watch em. I feel whatever I say about this one wont sway the public that much from watching it.

  4. Jordan Dodd says:

    I was gonna watch this tomorrow. I am now reconsidering!!!

    • The Vern says:

      Jordan. No. If you want to see something. See it. I plan on watching it.

      • Jordan Dodd says:

        I was planning to watch it as well but I watched the trailer and it really put me off. Perhaps I’m comparing it to the original film too much? I’m not the biggest fan of Chris Pratt also. But then again trailers can often be meaningless…. hmmmm I might see it on cheap tix day. But I’m with you, Mad Max is really the only blockbuster type film I have ever written about.

  5. swanpride says:

    I disagree. Because just because a movie has a “big name” it doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll be watching it. Jurassic World has my interest but I will only watch it if it gets really, really good reviews, and not from fanboys, but from people whose taste I trust and who have a more analytical approach to movies. Yeah, those big blockbuster movies get a lot of reviews. 90% of them are useless, just a quick “It was great” or “It was disappointing” which won’t help me to make my decision if I should skip it, spend the money if I happen to be in theatres or actually make the time to watch it.
    Plus, it is possible to sink a blockbuster if the reviews are bad. Doesn’t the audience deserve to get warned away from them?

    • The Vern says:

      Yes you are right. Tommorowland is one that was met with high praise before it came out as the most anticipated film of the year. That one was destroyed by bloggers and critics. But that one wasn’t met with that much high regards by the general public as Jurassic Park is. Most of these franchises already have a big fan base already, and I don’t think what we write is going to change the box office for it. As I said I will be watching this. I just dont think whatever we write is going to change most people’s mind about it.

  6. lukebbtt says:

    I was kind of looking forward to a review slating Jurassic World to pieces. I know there’s one out there somewhere (the ending is a little silly, yet AWESOME!).

    • The Vern says:

      Sorry man. The only bad thing I can say about that movie was that it was dirceted the same guy who did Safety Not Guaranteed and I hated that movie

  7. I respect your opinion but I say why not write about everything? it shouldn’t matter if the movie is an art house flick, a summer blockbuster or appalling garbage, for me, it’s about putting my opinion out there because I love all sorts of films. You completely fooled me, Haha, best click-bait I’ve ever clicked on 😀

    • The Vern says:

      Khalid. I’m glad you cover both on your site and I love that you put your opinion on there. I just feel like there is already too much coverage on a movie that already has too much coverage. Hell me writing this post is giving more advertisement to the movie

  8. Great bait, you got me 🙂 I doubt any of our blogs are going to add or subtract audience to JW. The people that want to see it will, and those who don’t have already made up their minds. I usually write about what I will have fun writing about. Sometimes that means pissing all over a popular movie, sometimes it means finding an under-appreciated gem, sometimes it means just putting my 2-cents in about a widely reviewed summer blockbuster. I don’t make those decisions until I watch the film. I saw San Andreas and found it to be a fun summer blockbuster, mindless action entertainment, but I didn’t write about it. What if you watch it and are inspired to say something about it?

  9. Haha, you had me for a moment. Personally I don’t feel the need to review most of the movies I see. And the big blockbusters have already been reviewed so many times by the time I get around to them I don’t think I have anything new to say. But I do like reading everybody else’s opinion. 😀

  10. table9mutant says:

    I know I talked about the reviewing of blockbusters on Twitter & that those are the only reviews to get any views on my blog, which makes me sad. As for Jurassic World, I was hoping this was a negative review of it for some reason. I don’t know why but I’m not that bothered about seeing it. But I’m sure I’ll waste my money on it anyway. 🙂

  11. You fooled me too! I actually DID hate this movie, and I’m one of the few. Check out my review if you get a chance/feel the same way haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

