The Vern’s 2015 Whiskey Oscar Challenge

 

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.o-WHISKEY-facebook

Depending on when you are reading this post.  The 87th Academy Awards are only a few short hours away from being televised.   After the snubs of The Lego Movie, Gone Girl, and Nightcrawler being snubbed in certain categories.  I was going to skip the show this year.  But there were some really good movies that got praised and so again I will be conducting my annual Whiskey Oscar Challenge.   Here’s how it works.

 

Rules.

Listed below are the nominees for each category.  I will pick the one I think will win.  If I chose the wrong one I must take a shot(it may or may not be whiskey but it will be an alcoholic beverage).  Keep in mind that my picks are random and are not based on any type of strategy.   I will hopefully be  posting videos of the event sometime next week.

 

Best Adapted Screenplay

American Sniper – Jason Hall

Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore

The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten

Whiplash –  Damien Chazelle

 

My Choice.

Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice

inherent_vice_ver2_xxlg

 

Best Original Screenplay

Birdman (or the unexpected virtues of ignorance) – Alejandro G Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr, Armando Bo

Boyhood – Written by Richard Linklatter

Foxcatcher – E. Max Frye , Dan Futterman

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson , Hugo Guinness

Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy

 

My Choice

Wes Anderson , Hugo Guinness – The Grand Budapest Hotel.

grand-budapest-hotel

 

Best Director

Alejandro G Inarritu – Birdman(or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

Richard Linklatter – Boyhood

Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game

 

My Choice

 Alejandro G Inarritu – Birdman(or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

BirdmanPoster1

 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role.

Emma Stone – Birdman (or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

Meryl Streep – Into the Woods

Laura Dern – Wild

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Kira Knightly – The Imitation Game

 

My Choice

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Boyhood 2

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Robert Duvall – The Judge

Edward Norton – Birdman (or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood

 

My Choice

J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

whiplash

 

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Michael Keaton – Birdman(or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

Bradley Cooper – American Sniper

Benedict  Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything

 

My Choice

Michael Keaton – Birdman or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

Birdman

 

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Reese Witherspoon – Wild

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

 

My Choice

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Moore

 

Best Animated Feature

The Boxtrolls

Song of the Sea

Big Hero 6

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

How To Train your Dragon 2

 

My Choice

How to Train Your Dragon 2

how-to-train-your-dragon2-movie-poster

 

 Best Picture

Boyhood

American Sniper

The Imitation Game

Birdman(or the unexpected virtues of ignorance)

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Selma

Whiplash

The Theory of Everything

 

My Choice

Boyhood

boyhood-movie-poster

 

Well there it is kats and kittens.  My winner prediction list.  Be sure to keep an eye out for this site next week to see if  I was right or wrong with my choices.  I hope I remembered to leave the lens-cap off the camera.

 

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

