Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac: Vol 10

Paper3Holy mooly everybody. How are all of you doing? It’s been a while since I wrote up one of these things and I really don’t have a good reason why except my work was a little hectic this week and I got a little sick and didn’t want to write anything.   Before I get to the movies I watched recently.  I want to share with you some of the great podcasts I was a guest on.  The last episode of As You Watch could not air because of a glitch with my recorder.  We will be back with new episodes in a week or so.

Simplistic reviewsThe great staff over at Simplistic Reviews Podcast had me on one of their shows to talk about TV, some movie news, and play some fun games.   I flirt a bit with their announcer and had a really great time.  Matthew Stewart and DJ Valentine were uber awesome hosts and I urge you to check out all of the sweet not safe for work antics that we did on there.

http://simplisticreviews.net/2015/01/the-simplistic-reviews-podcast-ep-36.html

 

LambcastI was also a recent guest on The LAMBcast where I played a game of LAMBPARDY against Elwood(From The Depths of DVD Hell) and Todd(Forgotten Films)  Host Jay(Life Vs Film) was our Alec Trebek  for the show and it was a lot of fun.   Check out the link here

LAMBcast #254: Lampardy

 

Now on the movies I watched.

 

Nightcrawler.
NightcrawlerI have never been upset at the Academy awards for snubbing certain movies and actors before.  But I am very upset that this only managed to garner one major award this year.  What the fuck voters?  Why is there no love for Jake Gylenhaal in this.  He gives a performance that is on par with  DeNiro’s in “Taxi Driver” or McDowell in “A Clockwork Orange“.  His character is a sociopath, but he’s so driven in his path for fame that he is seen by many  in this world to be a go getter and a winner.  He’s a hateful person, but he is still so interesting that you can’t help watching him.  It’s the type of movie that if it were released in the 70’s.  It would be considered to be a classic today.  It’s uncomfortable at times, but a really wonderful watch.

 

Inherent Vice.
Inherent_Vice_film_posterPaul Thomas Anderson is among the best filmmakers of all time.  So when I saw ads for his latest movie.  I got really excited because it looked like it was going to be a return to a comedy since “Punch Drunk Love“(2002).  While it does have some great comedic characters played by Martin Short, Josh Brolin, and Joaquin Pheonix himself.  I found the actual story to be dull and uninteresting. There was never a moment that got me interested in the story or the characters.  Everyone’s motivations were too hard to understand and I kept falling asleep while watching this.  The use of narration was also distracting and it made me feel like I could have just listened to the audio book instead.     This is one I will have to rewatch again since I have heard a lot of people praising it.  I could end up loving it, just like  “The Big Lebowski” which I hated when I first watched that.

 

The One I Love.
The-One-I-love-3This is one that took me completely by surprise, and it was much better then I expected.  All I knew from the synopsis is that it involves a couple (Mark Duplass and Elizabeth Moss) who go to a retreat to work on their marriage.  During their first night they each have an amazing evening with the person they love.  But the next morning, their loved ones can’t remember being with them.  Our couple finds out that there is another couple living in a house close by that looks exactly like them.  Are they clones, are they robots, we don’t know.   Now in most movies this would be the big reveal and the ending to the story.  But this one goes on and dives into themes and messages of the hard work it takes to be in a long relationship.   Even if you are single(like myself).  You will still enjoy this Twilight Zone like romantic fable and have fun figuring out who is who.

 

John Wick.
John WickThis was an awesome awesome flick and one of the best action movies of 2014.  I wished I wish I would have seen this earlier because it would have made my top 10 of the year.  In it Keanu Reeves (aka The One)plays a retired hitman whose girlfriend recently passed away.  She left him a dog and now he is starting to get on with his life.  But when a group of assholes break in and kill his dog.  He will suit up, strap on and seek some god damn vengeance.   The action scenes are stylish, the characters are great and this was indeed a fun movie to watch.  I wish it did a little better in the box office because I badly want to see a sequel to this.  So if you missed it in theaters.  You owe it to yourself to see it at home right away.

 

Song of the Sea.
song-of-the-sea-movieNominated for best animated film at this year’s Oscars.  “Song of the Sea” is a very good fable that doesn’t need to use characters for simple comic relief or add in a bunch of jokes that only adults will get.    Read my full review at The Cinematic Katzenjammer by clicking here and find out why it’s worthy of a nomination.

http://cinekatz.com/2015/01/30/song-of-the-sea-2014-all-sealed-up-review/

 

Detour.
detour-1945-3A fun film noir about a guy on his way to visit his girlfriend in LA.  He hitches a ride from a stranger who dies suddenly while on the road.  Afraid that he will be blamed for murder.  Our traveler decides to take the dead man’s money and just ditch the auto.  He picks up a female hitchhiker who later exposes him and begins to blackmail him, but how far will he go to keep her silent.  This was a really good movie that you can watch now on Mubi.com.   The performances from the cast were great.  Especially Ann Savage as the women blackmailing our wary traveler.  I would love to see someone remake this one, but only if they keep it in black and white.

 

High Anxiety.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn “Spaceballs”  Mel Brook’s  lovingly spoofed “Star Wars”  and other science fiction movies.  In “Young Frankenstein“, he did a satire of classic monster movies of the past .  Now for “High Anxiety“, He pays homage to the master of suspense. Alfred Hitchcock.  With the exception of scenes that parody “The Birds“, “Psycho“, and “Vertigo“.  I felt that this was mostly an original story.    After the death of one of his colleagues.  A famous psychiatrist(Mel Brooks) has just been hired to run a famous mental hospital.   There are  odd things abound at the place and some of would say foul play was committed by members of the staff( Cloris Leachman, and Harvey Korman).    This was an alright movie, but I just didn’t find it as funny as “Blazing Saddles” or his other movies.   Madelene Khan was the best thing about the movie, and the scene where her and Brooks are in disguise is a really good improv moment.

 

Veronica Mars Season 1.
vm-Veronica-Mars-splashPretty good mystery series about a girl(Kristen Bell) who works with her dad in solving cases.   When her best friend(Amanda Seyfried) is murdered and her mom goes missing.  Veronica will team up with some unlikely allies to help solve the case.  I liked the characters and the way a clue is revealed on each episode.  However the big reveal of the killer was kind of a let down in my opinion.  I almost expected The Mystery Machine from “Scooby Doo” to pop in and for Veronica to remove someone’s mask from their face.  Also she has a different love interest every few episodes, and no one seems to be that upset once they’ve been dumped    I will check out the other seasons soon, but I’m not much in a hurry to do so right now.

 

Well that’s it for this week.  I will be back next week for a review of a different movie that I’m sure none of you have ever heard of before, and I’m  hoping to write it for another site too.   Thanks for reading.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac: Vol 10

  1. theipc says:

    High Anxiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiety!

  2. The Vern says:

    Excited that John Wick is now out to own BeerMovie
    I love how you sing your comments Mr. IPC.

  3. Really excited to see Song of the Sea. It looks so lovely.
    Glad you liked Nightcrawler.

Leave a Reply

