1001 Overlooked Movies: Kissed(1996) Molly Parker

1001overThe Movie Waffler has a great section called 1001 Overlooked Movies (You Should See Before You Die).  I was fortunate to have written a few for that site which you can read by clicking the link.  This week I have decided to take a look at an early movie that made me take notice of actress Molly Parker.  She has been really good in the 2nd season of “House of Cards” and I hope that she gets cast in more things.  Here is my review of “Kissed“.

d_DVD

Kissed (1996)
Cast: Molly Parker, Peter Outerbridge, Jay Brazeau
Writers:  Barbara Gowdy(Short Story”We So Seldom Look at Love”), Lynne Stopkewich, Angus Fraser
Director:  Lynne Stopkewich

This is not going to be an easy movie to review.  The main character in this does some pretty disgusting things and yet I do not hate her.  There is no doubt that she is a deranged sick person and yet I can’t help but feel some sort of compassion for her.  Now in no way does that make me condone any of her actions because I don’t.  It’s just really hard to hate this woman and I should.   For you see “Kissed” is a movie about  a young girl discovering her sexuality.  Nothing new there, it has been done countless times before.  Yet her sexual awakening doesn’t come from the love of a man or a women.  It doesn’t come from any children or animals either so don’t start writing any hate letters.  Her desire comes from the recently deceased.  Yes, our main girl is a necrophiliac, and even though I should hate and despise her.  She is very captivating and it’s difficult to not become interested in her or what she believes.  It plays around with your sense of morals and will have you liking someone that you should not like at all.

Sandra Larson(Molly Parker) has been fascinated by death ever since she was little.  It was never any sort of exuberant kind of joy for her when someone died. But it also wasn’t anything traumatic or sad either.  Sandra would have these pets and when they died(she didn’t kill them, I promise).  She would perform these rituals where she could feel the animal’s soul cross over  Now certain customs have different beliefs about what happens to us when we leave this earth.  I’m sure you yourself have different ways you grief the lost of a love one.  Now, I’m not saying that dancing around with the body of your dead cat is a good thing and yet when she explains why.  It does make sense and you accept it.  Years later she grows up but is still fascinated by death.  In order to find answers to these problems she goes to school and gets a job at a mortuary.  You may be thinking she should have visited a shrink.  But sometimes you haft to figure out certain things for yourself.  It is there where Sandra discovers her desire and looses her virginity to a corpse.

KissedFor a movie about a necrophiliac. The actual sex is shot more tastefully then it sounds.  Which is an odd thing to say in and of itself, I’m sure.  It never has any wide shots of her straddling the dude, while she gets herself off.  It’s all done with stylized close ups and we don’t see much of her and the body together.  Just her face and this bright white light that keeps getting brighter and brighter until she reaches orgasm.  Yet Sandra herself will say that it is never just about the sex.  She believes that this experience  helps her see that man’s soul and feel his love. She says that it’s like looking into the sun without going blind.  The rational side of me wants to lock this lady up, but for some reason I want to follow her on this journey.

Kissed 3Sandra later meets up with a young man named Matt(Peter Outerbridge) who finds out about her fetish, but is not repulsed by it.  He really likes her and wants to understand her.  It’s just his methods of doing so are wrong   In one scene Matt acts like a corpse so that she will do the same ritual for him as she would the dead. Sandra tells him that it feels weird and she’s right it does.  But wait a minute, this girl has sex with dead guys.  She’s the weird one and yet I feel kind of bad for her.

Molly Parker KissedMolly Parker is superb in this role.  She brings humanity to a character who could have easily been portrayed as a nut job.    If this character  was a man I would have a real hard time watching this.  This may make me sound like a hypocrite, I’m sure.  I just have a soft spot for shy female characters who don’t fit in with in society’s guidelines.  If I met anyone like this, I would never get involved with them, but I would still want to talk to them. I would be both repulsed and fascinated at  the same time.  After all  she’s not doing anything too destructive to the bodies and I can’t get too upset of the thought of a cute girl who wants to jump my bones(literally) after I die.    If you have an open mind, I would suggest checking this out.  If not for the subject matter, watch it to see Molly Parker, because she is really good. I would later see her in a movie called “The Center of The World” and that one convinced me to keep watch of most anything she does.

o-WHISKEY-facebook

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1001 Overlooked Movies: Kissed(1996) Molly Parker

  1. ninvoid99 says:

    It’s been a long, long time since I saw it as it’s a weird-ass film to watch but oddly intoxicating. Especially due to Molly Parker’s performance as I was kind of turned on by it.

  2. The Vern says:

    Whew. Im glad to read that I wasn’t the only one who had the same reaction to her in this.

  3. I’d never heard of this movie before – or Molly Parker, for that matter. It sounds intriguing. Sharing it with the Pre’Weeners, too. I wouldn’t have guessed from the title that it might be about such macabre subject matter.

  4. The Vern says:

    It’s disturbing on how undisturbed it actually looks. It’s a normal romantic movie that just happens to deal with necrophilia. Again I dont support it. Just want to make that clear. Thanks for sharing this

  5. Nice take on what had to be a difficult movie to review (who wants to say they liked it?). I haven’t seen this one myself, but based on your review I might have to take a look. Kudos for tackling this.

  6. Jailene says:

    Nontihg I could say would give you undue credit for this story.

Leave a Reply

