Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac: Vol 7

 

insomniaSo on the net this week,I hear that someone has hacked into many actresses’ accounts and posted nude pictures of them online.  While this is indeed an invasion of someone’s privacy and those involved should be prosecuted fully.  I can’t help but wonder if some of the problems could be by the user themselves. If you are going to take sexy pictures of yourself to send to that someone special you like.  Make damn sure you got a good security system.  Maybe post that shit in a different file and label it as something lame. Like cooking pictures or better yet blanket making.  The same thing could have still happened.  When, let’s say someone’s mother stopped by to use the laptop and oh no.  She’s sees your naked photos.   I wouldn’t worry too much about Kate Upton and Jennifer Lawrence.  If the worst thing that happens is that people see you naked.  I think you will be OK.  Well I saw a shit load of flicks this past week and I’m taking a break from movies to watch some TV shows so look out for that article coming soon.  Here is what I have seen so far.

 

X Men Days of Future Past

xmen-daysA really good movie, but not the best in the whole series.  I would give that to “X-Men: First Class” but this was a close second.

 

Maleficent

maleficent-posterAngeline Jolie was very good in this new version of the beloved fairy tale  But at the end, it’s still a story about a girl getting angry because a guy left her.  Elle Fanning who has been amazing in movies like “Babel” and “Phoebe in Wonderland” is really just bland, but then again so was Aurora in the original Disney flick so maybe that is a good thing.  A lot of the other actors were also dull and at times.  I thought I was watching a High School Production of the play.   I appreciate that Disney tries to be a little bit more dark with this feature but we have a long way to go before we will see another movie like “Watcher in the Woods” or “Something Wicked This Way Comes“. David Lynch’s “The Straight Story“(Yes, it’s a Disney Flick) is a bit more darker then this.

 

Escape From Tomorrow.

Escape fromThis was the movie that was filmed entirely with hidden cameras at Disney Land.  Now that in itself was quite an achievement.  There are shots in this that I could not believe were done with a hidden camera and the use of black and white really helped sell the premise that this may not be the happiest place on Earth.  I just did not care for the main character one bit.  He’s  just this creepy guy who spends way too much time chasing these two teenage girls around.  I can understand his annoyance with his wife a little bit, but in her defense.  The guy does some pretty stupid things just to chase these girls around.  I won’t even get into the son’s Oedipus obsession with the mom.  If the main character was a bit more likeable or interesting I could recommend it, but instead I was mostly interested in how it was shot.

 

All Cheerleaders Die.

ALL-CHEERLEADERS-DIE-40BF15EA group of girls are brought back to life and vow revenge on the jocks who helped kill them.  I mainly saw this because of Lucky McKee who also directed “May” and “The Woman“.  It’s silly ,a bit over the top at times, but still a gory good time.

 

Dear Mr. Watterson.

Dear Mr. WattersonI am a huge fan of Calvin and Hobbes and still continue to read the books even to this day.  They continue to be as good as when I first read them and any one regardless of age can enjoy them.  It’s obvious that the guy making this documentary really did like creator Bill Waterson and so did the people he interviewed.  It’s just that I felt more time was spent on him saying that he liked Calvin and Hobbes rather then talk about the strip itself.  He does visit the places where Bill first worked and seeing the town where Calvin might have actually lived was kind of cool.  I just could not get into this movie.

 

Crystal Fairy and the Magical Cactus.

crystalfairyI found this movie streaming via Netflix one night and gave it a shot.   I’m glad I did, because I didn’t have to pay full price to see it in theaters.  The story centers around Michael Cera and his friends’ quest to find this cactus that can give the user a really nice high.  On the journey they meet Crystal Fairy(Abby Hoffman) and the whole movie is just them searching for this cactus, preparing the cactus and then digesting the cactus.   I thought we would maybe see some trippy shit after they took said plant, but no.   All we see is just a bunch of stoned people talking about things, and none of it was ever interesting.  The sections were they were trying to find the cactus was a lot more fun then them actually taking the item.   Maybe if I was on something.  I would enjoy this a lot more.
The Way Way Back.

Way Way BackMy cohosts, Nick and Joe of As You Watch have recommended this movie for a while and I’m really sorry that it’s taking me this long to watch it.  The story is about this shy young kid named Duncun(Liam James) who is on vacation with his mom(Toni Collette) and her new boyfriend(Steve Carell) at this beach resort.  Feeling neglected by everyone there.  Duncun gets a job at a water park and meets the carefree manager Owen(Sam Rockwell).  Who helps him come out of his shell and teaches the kid to like himself a little more.  Sam Rockwell is really good in a role that cou­­­­ld have easily been written as a one note trope.   The older more experienced. fun guy that helps the younger kid get laid(do kids still use that term.  Gah I am getting old).  Which is what I thought this movie would be from the trailers I saw.  This was more about helping Duncun gain self confidence then anything else.  The only problem I had with this movie was that for a while.  Things were happening to Duncun, rather then having him actually do anything.  It was the cute girl who first talked to him at the house.  It was Owen who first approached him at the video game.  If these people did not contact him, he would have done nothing but  just be miserable at the beach house all summer.  He was kind of annoying until he finally did stand up to Trent and then after that the movie really won me over.

 

 

Celeste and Jesse Forever.

Celste and JesseCan you be best friends with someone you just broke up with.  Well that is the question this movie wants to present us with.  Celeste(Rashida Jones) and Jesse(Andy Samberg) have been best friends for years and now are getting a divorce.  Despite all of this,they still continue to hang out with each other and somewhat live together too(Jesse lives in Celeste’s guest house).  They both start seeing other people and one gets more serious then the other.  This causes one of them to become more distraught then the other.  But then one of them has a realization that the other person had a point and it all ends well.   I’m not really giving anything away, because the movie after all is called “Celeste and Jesse Forever“.  They wouldn’t have named it this if it wasn’t true, right.  Both leads are good in this, but it’s a very predictable story that tries to hard to be like “Annie Hall” or “500 Days of Summer” and those ones were way better.

 

22 Jump Street.

22 jumpIt wasn’t as good as the first one.  It’s very funny, but I laughed a lot more at the first one then I did at this.  The montage at the end with all the sequels was the best moment for me.

 

Mud

mud-french-posterI really wanted to check this flick out after I saw the trailers and found out that it was directed by Jeff Nichols.  He made the movie “Take Shelter” and that movie was freaking awesome.  “Mud” was just….OK.    It’s not a bad film and all the performances are really good.  It just that it wasn’t memorable.  The story is about two young boys(Tye Sheridan, Jacob Lofland) who find a man named Mud(Matthew McConaughey) hiding from the law.  They agree to help him out in exchange for his boat and throughout the flick they discover new facts about him.   What I got out of the flick is that both Mud and Ellis(Sheridan)know jack shit about women.  Mud is all in love with Juniper(Reese Witherspoon) who doesn’t treat him with much respect.  The Ellis kid is all in love with this older girl named May Pearl(Mary Sturdivant) even though they only went on one date.  Yeah I can sort of understand why they do.  Because their home life isn’t all that great but that Ellis kid had a good mother(Sarah Paulson) that he should have listened to.   There is a crime element in this story, but for me it felt small next to the one about the girls in it.

 

Dreamscape.

DreamscapeI saw this listed in the 1984 blogathon that was hosted  by Todd of Forgotten Films(Check out Day 4.  I hear that one was an awesome day) and decided to watch this flick.  It concerns a psychic(Dennis Quaid) being hired to help people conquer their nightmares.  I knew about this flick when I was a kid but I avoided it because it reminded me of that other movie where people are fighting evil things in their dreams.  There is one moment where a guy does kill someone with long knives on his fingers.   Some of the dream sequences were funny, like the guy who dreams his wife is having sex with everyone but him.  Some are a bit scary, like the one about the kid fighting the snake man.  Some were downright creepy, like the Dennis Quaid character being able to enter the dreams of Kate Capshaw and have sex with her.  Now I have stated how much I hated her character in “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom” but I never thought she was a bad actress.  It was really refreshing to see her play a character that is not so annoying.   There is an assassination plot thrown in that doesn’t make a lot of sense, but this is a still a pretty good flick.

 

Blue Ruin.

blue-ruin-1GAHH.  This was featured in a lot of reviews as being one of the best and I really can’t understand why.  I appreciated”Upstream Color” a lot more then I did this.  The story was about Dwight(Macon Blair) who wants revenge on a guy for killing his parents.  It’s a good fifteen minutes before we understand what this guy is doing and another ten before we understand why.  I love slow movies and all but this is just a bit too much for me.  Many times I thought about shutting this one off, and looking back I wish I did.  The actors were good but this could have used a better editor.

 

Alright, that’s it for now. Let me know if you saw anything I should seek out.   Have a good night.

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Thoughts of a Movie Insomniac: Vol 7

  1. theipc says:

    All Cheerleaders Die is awesome. End of comment. : )

  2. Damn, thats a lot of movies! Dreamscape caught my interest too. Is that the one where the bad guy from The Warriors turns into a snake-man? Thats the only scene I really remember.

  3. The Vern says:

    Oh shit you are right he is that same guy who wanted The Warriors to come out and playyyyyyyYAYY. Damn I need to rewatch that flick.

  4. Monkeyboy says:

    I think I would disagree about Mud and Blue Ruin. I thought they were fantastic, Mud especially.

  5. Chris says:

    I’ve seen Mud, & The Way Way Back. Agree Sam Rockwell shines, and I think he even improvised parts of the dialogue. Granted Duncan was bit of a passive character, yet both films did a good job of putting us in the shoes of the young characters. There was an almost 80s vibe about the coming-of-age approach, and I liked both movies avoided the raunchy elements that so many of the movies today are full of. I quite liked Mud, though it didn’t make my top 20 of that year, my main issue was I felt it was overlong.

    Hadn’t heard of Dear Mr. Watterson, I haven’t read the comics in years, a pity the doc wasn’t as good as you had hoped.

  6. The Vern says:

    Chris. Thanks for commenting, yeah I will say the Dear Mr. Watterson Doc, did make me want to read more Calvin and Hobbes so that is a good thing. Agree that Mud was too long.

    MonkeyBoy. I liked the performances in both movies but liked Mud way more then Blue Ruin. That one was just way too slow for me. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

