Random thoughts of a movie insomniac Vol 5.

team-america-world-police_592x299Americaaaa… AmericaaaaaaHHHHH……  America “FUCK YEAH”. Coming to you to save the mother fucking day yay.  America “FUCK YEAH”.  Freedom is the only way.  Well as you can tell from that theme song from “Team America: World Police“(Lyrics written by Trey Parker.  Please don’t sue even though that is the American way)  It’s time to celebrate our independence…. Let me rephrase that.  It’s time for many Americans to celebrate their independence.  I myself love a good Bar B Que, but I not going to get all patriotic and dis on other people’s culture.  Many of my readers don’t celebrate this holiday , but many do and I respect both.  Now that I stopped a few hateful comments from spewing.  Let me talk breifly about my weekend. Most of my friends will be at CONvergence partying it up with other sci-fi,horror and fantasy fans . I will be resting up for my trip next week to be meeting up with other fellow Lammies in the windy city of Chicago.  Sadly I can only stay a short bit because I have a show with my band Victory Riot the next night.  It’ going to be one hell of a fun weekend and I can not wait.    With working a full time job and being sick for part of it.  I was able to see a full a few movies and write down what I think of them.  In hopes  that you will like or disagree  and then would want to respond and put in comments or something.  I’m still not sure what you kids are into nowadays.  But here’s the list.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

amazing-spider-man-2-posterThis one was a major improvement over the last instllment which was more or less  just another origin story.  In this outing Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy have just graduated High School( Really High School.  umm Ok Movie I’ll suspend my disbelief for you)  Although Peter has promised Gwen’s father that he will no longer make contact with her.  He’s finding that to be more and more difficult.   It is understandable because she is a much better match for him then Mary Jane Watson in the Sam Raimi trilogy.  Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy’s relationship and what happens to her is one of the most iconic  story  lines in comic book history.  That is why it saddens me so much when the movie decides to focus on more villains then it does them.  Jamie Foxx is a good actor but he adds nothing to the character of Electro.  He’s just another one of those characters who idolizes a superhero but becomes vengeful when that hero doesn’t want them to join their team.  See also “The Incredibles”  “Kick Ass”   and “Batman Forever“.   Dale Dehann is great as Harry Osborne and he should have been the only villain in this.  The other side story about Peter’s parents was also good and the action scenes were really amazing(no pun intended).  I wanted a bit more of Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone and I feel that they were a bit underused in this sequel.  It also ends on an upbeat note when it really should have had a more darker tone.  This should have been “The Empire Strikes Back” Ending and not go right in to “Jedi” right away.  Oh yeah this also stars Paul Giamatti in a wasted cameo

A Million Ways to Die in the West.

hr_A_Million_Ways_to_Die_in_the_West_17Well Seth McFarlane.  You can’t always strike lighting twice.  You had a really good hit with “Ted“(read  review by clicking the link), but you did not repeat the same thing with your latest feature.  In all honesty I found this movie to be very funny, but only in certain sections.  I liked the moments between Sarah Silverman and Giovanni Ribisi as a couple who won’t have sex before marriage even though she’s a hooker.  They just seemed like old friends and their chemistry on screen was a lot of fun to watch.  Charlize Theron and Seth McFarlane were alright, but I had a much harder time buying into their relationship  even though they are suppose to be the main focus.   There are a lot of gross out, racist and homophobic jokes but I wonder if this movie was reflecting of the times that this was set in.  Or are they just flat out  being prejudice.  In “Blazing Saddles”  the racist humor works because the characters saying it are looked at as idiots so it’s easy to laugh at them.  But in this one  it’s said in the background or by an extra so that it almost becomes accepted as being a part of that world.  It’s a little bit too long but if your a fan of “Family Guy” . I would hastily recommend it.

My Man Godfrey

Poster - My Man Godfrey (1936)_02I love a good screwball comedy.  Mainly because nothing really has to make any sense in them.  Movies nowadays try to bring in too much realism or make things seem more plausible then they really need to be.  In this story Irene(Carole Lombard) has just hired a bum by the name of Godfrey(William Powell) to be the new butler for her family.   Her sister Cornilia(Gail Patrick) does not like him because he once pushed her into some trash.  So she spends most of the movie trying to get back at him.    While the other family members are  getting  used to this new stranger in their home.  Irene has started to fall in love with him which has  become quite a problem for our man Godfrey.   The fun in this movie is seeing all of the different and odd characters and how they react with eachother.  There isn’t that much of a plot except that Irene is in love with Godfrey,Cornilia wants revenge on him, and Godfrey has a plan himself.  It’s unclear on what that plan is , but I will urge you the ending is satisfactory even if it doesn’t make a lot of sense.   If you get a chance to check out the Criterion DVD I highly suggest it.  There is an outtake section where they use words I had no idea existed back in the 30’s.  It is very funny.

Storytelling.

StorytellngI have seen this before, but this was my first time watching the unrated version.   There are two stories in this .  One titled Fiction, and the other one titled Non Fiction.  Let’s look at each one a little bit more closer
Fiction.
Selma Blair plays Vi  a student in college who is dating a man with cerebral palsy.  That same man is played by Leo Fitzpatrick who many may recognize as Telly from the movie “Kids.”  They are both part of this writer’s group where their teacher(Robert Wisdom) knocks down theirs and I’m sure many others’  contributions.    One night after  Vi’s boyfriend breaks up with her; she goes to a bar and sees her teacher from the group there.  Without any real explanation she goes home with him and they have sex.  The next day she tearfully describes the actions  of their night  in a fictional story to her other classmates and they are mostly offended at what she has said.  I think this was to describe what other people have said about director Todd Solondz’s other works.  Mainly his last feature “Happiness“.  One of the students puts Vi’s events in a much better context  It’s  an alright story with strong acting from everyone around  and I found the sex scene between actors Robert Wisdom and Selma Blair to be uncomfortably funny.

Non fiction

A failed  Documentary Filmmaker(Paul Giamatti) decides that his next topic is going to be about high school and he uses the local burnout Scooby(Mark Webber) as his main subject.  Scooby lives in a posh suburban home with his parents (John Goodman, Julie Hagarty)  two brothers  Brady(Noah Fliess) Mikey(Jonathan Osser) and house maid Consuelo(Lupe Ontiveros)The father is the average angry type and the mother is the typical  passive one.  Brady is the popular jock while Mikey is the smart quiet one that is usually ignored.  Don’t let appearances fool you,that Mikey kid can be pretty vicious.  He talks to Consuelo in a way that is both hurtful, but  oddly very honest and innocent like .  He’s just asking her questions that many of us would stop out of respect, but I don’t think this kid was  taught any sort of such manners .   The movie features cameos from Franka Potente(“Run Lola Run“) and even one from Conan O’Brein himself which kind of surprised me.  Hell seeing John Goodman or Paul Giamatti in a Todd Solondz film is kind of odd.  But it’s no less odd then seen Mr. Solondz himself in a romantic comedy starring Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt now is there.

Lock Out.

LockoutI’ll admit when I saw trailers for this I thought it was going to be stupid.  A Prison set in space where all the inmates just happen to escape.  Oh no the president’s daughter is on board and the only one that can save her is a man being sent there for a crime he did not commit.  It was a basic by the numbers action flick.  But I’ll be lying if I said I didn’t have  fun watching it because I did.  Guy Pearce is really good as the wise cracking hero that can dish out a one liner as well as he can a hit.  The move is fast paced 90 minutes and nothing ever felt slow the whole time I watched it.   I hope they make another movie with this character.

The Last of Us.

LAST1This shouldn’t be mentioned on this list because it is a video game, and if  I am to be Frank with you.  It’s not even a game I played.  I just watched the whole game via a YouTube video.  Someone once mentioned that it gets really emotional in the first ten minutes and some have said that it even made them cry.    I have never heard of a game causing anyone to shed any tears except for that one time I was close to finishing Super Mario Bros 3 and a power surge reset my whole game.  This was going to be different.  I was going to become invested in the storyline and the characters and not just the game play.   Right from the start this game had me in it’s grasp and I was in a trance for four solid hours just watching this thing. The way the story changes focus of it’s main characters during this game is really impressive and the voice acting by Troy Baker and Ashley Johnson is among the best I have ever witnessed .  I heard they want to do a live action version of this, and if they do I hope they get actors who are just as good as these two because they are just amazing.  For years myself and many others would just skip the cut scenes just to get back to the game.  But for this one, it’s very important to watch them.

 

Let me know in the comments what movies you are going to see this weekend or any other fun activities you got planned.    Have a great weekend.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in article, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Random thoughts of a movie insomniac Vol 5.

  1. nicholasjobe says:

    Wow…. 4 hours for Last of Us? You watched a shitty version. To get the complete story with all the character development and everything, there is a MINIMUM of 10 hours. To get the most of everything, 15-20. 4 hours is just…. was it just random cut scenes or what?

    • The Vern says:

      Yeah it was cut scenes and a few gameplays. Reading that there is 10 hours of material I missed makes me want to buy this and play it for real. Thanks Nick

  2. Deliver Us From Evil – just about the only movie I want to see this summer 🙂

  3. The Vern says:

    I hope to see this during the week when Ticket prices are a lot lower. Thanks for the comment

  4. I’m a huge fan of Family Guy and Seth MacFarlane, but even I don’t think his latest film looks very good.
    So glad you liked The Last of Us (even if you didn’t play it, ha). I consider it to be a masterpiece in gameplaying, storytelling and more.

  5. jjames36 says:

    Agreed on a Million Ways to Die in the West. I wasn’t a fan, either.

    The only other one I’ve seen is Lockout. And . . . I didn’t like it one bit. Thought it was about as bad as you feared it was going to be. 🙂

    • The Vern says:

      I wont argue with you about your opinion about Lock Out. It can be stupid. I just liked that it didnt take itself seriously and it was just the kind of action movie I was in the mood for. Trust me if it was any longer then 90 minutes I would have been in the same boat as you.

  6. Chris says:

    My Man Godfrey, the ending was perfect, and my favorite scene.

    Storytelling was better than I expected it to be, even though it does feels like a couple of extended short films slapped together.

    • The Vern says:

      I will agree with you about that end scene in My Man Godfrey was funny. It’s good to know that when done well humor is timeless. Thanks for the comments Chris.

Leave a Reply

