Tomda Swindleston in Only Lovers Left Alive (Review)

 

Only Lovers GifI do apologize about the lack of new reviews and articles for this site.   It’s not like I don’t enjoy writing up new things for you fine folks to read.  I just haven’t had a lot of time to write and when I do.  I’m too tired from work and all I want to do is have a beer and watch a little TV before I head to bed.  That will all change very soon and I appreciate your patience so far .  The only recent review I wrote was one for the last movie I saw in theaters.  “Only Lovers Left Alive” is the new movie directed by Jim Jarmusch and stars the beautifully odd couple of Tilda Swinton and Tom Hiddleston.(#TomdaSwindleston)  It’s about aging vampires, and many reviews seem to only comment on it’s slow pace.  Yes it’s tone is dry and the main characters could be easily labeled as hipsters. But since they actually were from eras of  long long ago.  It would make sense that they would know about the music and style from there. Because they were  You can read more of my review over at The Cinematic Katzenjammer by clicking the link below.   Thanks for reading.

http://cinekatz.com/only-lovers-left-alive-2013-like-a-record-baby-right-round-round-round-review/

8442&v=fit512

 

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tomda Swindleston in Only Lovers Left Alive (Review)

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Surprised I liked this one. Not because I’m not really a huge fan of Jarmusch to begin with, but because it made these depressed, mellowed-out vampires actually somewhat cool and sympathetic. Good review Vern.

  2. The Vern says:

    Coming from a great critic like yourself. That is a huge compliment. Thank you Dan

  3. jjames36 says:

    Sounds like a pretty promising film. I can’t wait to see it – hopefully I like it as much as you do. 🙂

  4. Tom Hiddleston is certainly making some exciting character choices and going down a really interesting career route. He perfectly inhibits all of Adams traits portrayed such a well-layered character who is strong, vulnerable, and arguably, very human.

  5. ruth says:

    Hi Vern, thanks for sending me this link. When I read the full review you said some scenes overstay its welcome. I feel that way about some scenes in Byzantium as well, in fact some seem wholly unnecessary, but overall I think Byzantium isn’t overly slow. I’ve only seen one Jarmusch’s film and that was Broken Flowers. I like it because of Bill Murray!

  6. The Vern says:

    Im the same way with Tilda Swinton. I went and saw this mainly because of her. Thanks for reading btw

Leave a Reply

