The Vern checks in to The Grand Budapest Hotel.

movies-the-grand-budapest-hotel_1The latest movie from Wes Anderson has all the quirky elements one would expect to see in one of his features.  It has it’s offbeat but fascinating characters made believable by it’s cast of talented actors.  It features some very inventive production design that makes you wish there was a place actually like it, so you could see it.  Even the music score seems to play to a different rhythm then most other movies.   Yes Wes Anderson movies themselves have become their own genre, and if you like that style.  You may very much like this one.  I recently wrote a review of this movie for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.   You can read the full review by clicking the link listed below this paragraph.  Let me know what you thought of this movie, and any of the other films that Mr. Anderson has done.   Do you think he is a visually artist or do you find his stuff to be pretentious.  Thanks for reading.

“The Grand Budapest Hotel” (2014): Checking In With Mr. Anderson(Review)

8442&v=fit512

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Vern checks in to The Grand Budapest Hotel.

  1. jjames36 says:

    Great review, Vern. The score is a touch disappointing, as is the fact that you found the central story a little lacking. But I’m glad you like it anyway.

    Hopefully, when I finally see it, I like it just as much. 🙂

  2. The Vern says:

    I will be looking out for your review. Thanks for the comments

  3. CMrok93 says:

    You can tell that this is a Wes Anderson movie right away. Every single frame just drips and oozes with French-inspired whimsy and pizzazz, which also gives its story extra-life. Good review Vern.

  4. Good review, I am planning on seeing it this weekend.

  5. Pingback: In Case You Missed It – Wes AnderMarch Week 3 | French Toast Sunday

  6. Nice review as always. Love the sound of your cinema – it sounds like the perfect place to watch this movie. I’m a big fan of Anderson, the way he translates pure imagination to the big screen fascinates me. There’s always depth within his features too – the style is loaded with meaning. He’s a very gifted director in my opinion and I can’t wait to see what he does next.

  7. Enjoyed your review. It will be be interesting to see how this compares to Anderson’s other films. He’s definitely hit and miss with me, but when he’s on, he’s on. I’m probably in the minority for saying this, but my favorite Anderson movie is The Life Aquatic. Not so fond of The Royal Tenenbaums or The Darjeeling Limited.

    • The Vern says:

      I’ll admit. I do need to rewatch Life Aquatic again. I did not love it the first time I saw it, but will check it out again soon. There are a lot of people who liked that one. Thanks for the comments Barry

  8. Hey Vern, I personally dislike Wes Anderson, I think he is pretentious and was bored by his movies I watched (Tenenbaums, Life Aquatic and Moonrise Kingdom) – I would even go as far as to call Moonrise Kingdom an abomination :D. That being said, I’m very interested in The Grand Budapest Hotel – and your review on The Cinematic Katzenjammer definitely convinced me to give it a try. Cheers!

    Dorian

    • The Vern says:

      If you look at it like a screwball comedy from the 30’s. You’ll get into it more. Wes Anderson movies are not for everyone, and I can totally understand why some don’t like him. His style can be kind of annoying after a while. But I do respect that he does something different then a lot of other directors. At least his name has a genre. It doesnt matter if its a comedy or a drama. It’s just a Wes Anderson Picture. Thanks so much for the comments Dorian.

  9. Pingback: Wes AnderMarch in Review | French Toast Sunday

  10. Pingback: In Defense of: Southland Tales. | The Vern's Video Vortex.

Leave a Reply

