The Vern gets conned and reviews The Lady Eve.

Lady EveThe Lady Eve (1941)

Cast: Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda, Charles Coburn

Writers: Monckton Hoffe, Preston Sturges

Director: Preston Sturges.

A father and daughter con team have just set their sites on the heir to a beer brewing empire named Charles(Fonda).  The plan to take his money is very simple, but when the daughter begins seducing him.  She finds out that she actually does love the man.

I’m keeping this review short because honestly there is not much to say about it.  It was interesting watching Jean (Stanwyck) try to con Charles and then when she begins liking him watching her try to out wit her dad(Coburn) from conning him.  I just never fully bought in to the fact that they both loved each other.  I guess I could accept that Jean saw Charles as a way out of this lifestyle of scamming that she got so used to.  But I never saw much of that life to begin with.  It would have been nice if there was a scene that showed us how Jean and her Dad scammed these men before.  We understand later that they are both good card players and could very easily cheat their way into a good hand.  Yet that still never explains why the daughter has to seduce these men. I’m gueesing that they have her marry these men and then divorce them for a little bit of extra loot.  As for Charles.  I guess I too could accept him falling in love with her because maybe unlike the rest of the women he meets.  She never seemed to be interested in his money or that he is the heir to a brewing company that he hates.  I think the big reason why he was so into her was the fact that despite her hatred of snakes(which he loves by the way).  She still wanted to be with him.  I like that aspect of the movie because I’m sure we all had at one point or maybe now.  Something about the person we have been with (or still are) that drove us batty.  Yet we find those flaws kind of endearing because we love that person.

LadyEve1The Lady Eve” is a nice enough watch and I would recommend it just for Stanwyck alone.  She is one of the best things about it.  She can be both seductive and also display this dry wit that makes her very funny.  Henry Fonda as the hapless man in love was good, but his character didn’t really impress me all that much.  He just seemed to be like all the other  nice, shy, nervous characters in movies I have seen before.  This was the only other Preston Sturges movie I have seen next to “Sullivan’s Travels” and I found that one to be a bit better then that.  Mainly because the humor in that is more relevant today then this one.  I still give this one my whiskey shot, but it’s one I will not seek out that often.

8442&v=fit512NOTE*** My internet is still having problems so if I don’t respond back to comments right away.  Don’t worry,I will when it’s fully fixed.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Vern gets conned and reviews The Lady Eve.

  1. jjames36 says:

    Good review. Sounds fairly middling and thereby something I’m going to skip.

  2. Dan Heaton says:

    Nice enough? What? I’ll admit that it’s been a while since I’ve seen it, so I could have fuzzy memories. I remember really liking The Lady Eve. i’m glad you mentioned Stanwyck, who’s even better here than in Double Indemnity. It’s a lot of fun, and Henry Fonda is actually pretty good at comedy.

    • The Vern says:

      She is good in this. I just wanted to see more of the con work she does before she meets Henry Fonda’s character. Thanks for the comment Dan.

  3. ninvoid99 says:

    Wow… those are nice, nice legs. I need to see this. Hopefully as a potential Blind Spot for next year.

Leave a Reply

