The Vern’s Third Troma Challenge: Tromeo and Juliet.

Troma-LogoHere it is Troma Junkies.  My 3rd installment in my Troma Challenge.  I do want to let you fine folks know that I am not here to just post only my thoughts of these movies.  I want to read or watch what you think about these titles too.  If you have a review of a Troma movie  that I could link to.  Let me know via twitter @videovangaurd.  You will get the pleasure of having  your site’s name featured in the title of the post, and I will gush over how sexy you look and how I can’t keep my hands off of you. Now then Let’s get to my thoughts about “Tromeo and Juliet

Tromeo and Juliet

Cast:  Jane Jensen, Will Keenan,Maximillian Shaun

Writers: James Gunn Lloyd Kauffman

Director:  Lloyd Kauffman

tromeo-and-juliet-movie-poster-1996-1020209481I’m not going to describe the plot because we have all been to English class before and have all heard the tragic tale of the fair dame Juliet and her Tromeo. No I don’t mean Romeo.  I am talking about Troma’s version of one of the greatest love stories ever written.  A love story that was ripe as ever to get this kind of treatment.  It essentially follows the same story as Shakespeare’s original, but add in bits of body Peircing, kinky sex,dismemberment, heavy violence, and an ending that is kind of disturbing(not going to spoil it.  sorry) and you have a deranged tale from the bard.  He is shown laughing before the end credits role.

Unlike my 2nd challenge.  The actors in this film take their roles and the story a bit more serious.  Yes the concept is over the top and bizarre but everyone gives it their best and for some strange reason it works.  Our two actors Jane Jensen as Juliet and Will Keenan as Tromeo have good chemistry with each other and I bought very much that these two would be in love.  Hell I would love to see these two in a more mainstream romantic feature if they made one.  Maximilian Shaun gives a scary performance as Juliet’s abusive father Cappy.  The rest of the cast including Steve Gibbons(Lord Arbuckle),Sean Gunn(Sammy Capulet) and Debbie Rochon(Ness) are also good in their roles.

One reason why I think this one stands out from other Troma pictures is that they brought in James Gunn( “Dawn of The Dead“, “Super“) to work on this script with Lloyd Kauffman.  From watching Mr. Gunn’s other movies, you get the feeling that he too loves the same kind of cheesy horror films that Mr. Kauffman does.  But he wants the characters and situations to feel a bit more real.  No matter how bizarre the story gets, in this particular world.  Every one in it feels real and genuine.

Star-crossed-in-TromavilleTromeo and Julliet” may be the most critically acclaimed movie of Troma’s career.  It received high praise from The New York Times, USA Today, and Variety Magazine.  The best way I can describe this movie is this.  Take the students from “The Rules of Attraction” and have them visit the world of “The Doom Generation“.  Give them a lot of booze, a little weed and then tell them to redo Shakespeare.  It’s a very bizarre mess, but it’s one that I don’t mind watching.  Have a great weekend.  I will be back next week with my review of “Chopper Chicks in ZombieTown“. I also plan on doing one on “House on Haunted Hill” like I promised in a previous post too.  Laters

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcast The Film Pasture and As You Watch. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Vern’s Third Troma Challenge: Tromeo and Juliet.

  1. table9mutant says:

    Good review. I’d add my thoughts but it’s been too long since I’ve seen it & I barely remember it. More of a Toxic Avenger fan. 🙂

  2. Will Kouf says:

    James Gunn is definitely a huge force in why this movie is the way it is. Lloyd Kaufman has said that Gunn also helped direct a lot of it too. Also of note: the first appearance of the Troma penis monster that shows up in just about every Troma produced movie after this. 🙂 Love this one too, although I love pretty much all of Kaufman’s movies that I’ve seen.

    • The Vern says:

      I would like James Gunn to do another Troma movie. Didn’t Slither and Super kinda feel like Troma movies but with a much bigger budget. Thanks again for the comment

      • Will Kouf says:

        Yeah Slither and Super definitely have a Troma influence, which I loved. He always has Lloyd do a cameo too, hopefully that extends to Guardians of the Galaxy! I would love to see him come back and do another film at Troma too.

Leave a Reply

