The Vern’s First Troma Challenge: Class of Nuke ‘Em High.

Troma-LogoHello Troma Fans  For the next few weeks The Vern’s Video Vortex will be featuring nothing but reviews from a studio that is truly independent.  Their spirit to remain outside of the mainstream system  was impressive and bold back in the early 80’s, and that passion still lives on today.  Many people will dismiss these movies as nothing more than B schlock pictures.  Well, what the hell is wrong with that.  Unlike a certain studios who makes low-budget film about storm clouds with man-eating mammals or those same creatures being blended with that of an Octopus.  Troma at least stays with in its budget(Which is none) and never tries to make  movies that look like they cost more by adding in Trashy CGI….  Although I’m just saying this now having only seen their early work so far.  So let’s get this challenge started with “Class of Nuke ‘Em High”

ClassofNukeEmHigh_quad_UK_BrianBysouth-1-500x376Class of Nuke ‘Em High

Cast: Janelle Brady, Gil Brenton,Robert Prichard

Writers:   Lloyd Kaufmann, Richard W Haines, Mark Rudnitsky, Stuart Struttn

Directors: Michael Hertz, Richard W. Haines, Samuel Well

In the town of Tromaville (This is a place that is used in basically every one of these movies so get used to seeing it in every one of  theses posts). The local high school is located right next to a nuclear power plant.    Since the plant opened there have been a lot of strange behavior amongst the students and Staff .  Teachers start loosing their hair and the members of the honor society have become an extremely violent drug pushers known as The Creatins.  At one of the parties Eddie(James Nugent Vernon)gives his friends Warren(Gil Brenton) and Chrissy(Janelle Brady)some weed that he bought near the plant from  the Creatins. This causes both of them to becoming very sick and mutating.  Warren vows vengeance on The Creatins for making both him and Chrissy sick and kills one of them.  This makes the rest of the gang very mad and they vow revenge on Warren and the whole high school too.  Can Warren make this place safe for him and  other nice mutants or will this place become a hangout for the more violent breed.

I was expecting something really bad when I decided that this was going to be the first one I review.  I was expecting the acting to be god awful and the direction to be all over the place, but that’s not what I got  with this movie at all.  All of the actors stay consistent with their roles and the pacing of the story flows smoothly throughout and never feels too long.  I’m not saying that this should go and win any major awards, but I was never bored while watching this, and that has to be the biggest compliment I can give to any movie.  When I watched “Lincoln” last year.  I was constantly  checking my watch and dozing off here and there. Yes the acting was incredible and it deserved all of the love it got, but I felt it went on a little bit  too long.  But with “Class of Nuke ‘Em High“.  None of the running time length felt wasted  I was invested with these characters and the story the whole time.  That’s not to say that they were great, but at least they all made memorable characters.   I don’t really care if the acting is believable or not.  Just give me a story that has enjoyable characters  and a story that is at least interesting and I will stay with your picture the whole way through.

After watching this movie, It made me want to be on set while they were making it.  Everyone seems to be having a good time and that kind of joy shows up on the screen.  This was like being at a big party. A party held by those who love horror movies and practical effects.  I am off to a good start so far.  Next time we meet I will be looking at Sgt. Kabukiman N.Y.P.D“.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews, The Troma Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Vern’s First Troma Challenge: Class of Nuke ‘Em High.

  1. table9mutant says:

    Thanks for the review! Had this movie for ages but never gotten around to checking it out. I might now. Eventually. 🙂

  2. The Vern says:

    You are most welcome. Thank you for visiting. I look forward to reading your thoughts about it

  3. Will Kouf says:

    I love this movie, and I agree that it’s much better than Troma’s reputation would make you think. I was surprised by that myself when I first saw it. In case you’re curious about the others: Part 2 is trashier but still a lot of B-Movie fun, and Part 3 is just awful. There’s also a remake/reboot soon to be released as well!

  4. Pingback: The Vern’s Troma Challenge: Return to Nuke ‘Em High. Vol 1 | The Vern's Video Vortex.

  5. Laura says:

    I only just heard of this for the first time recently, and now it seems to be everywhere! It sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

