The Vern takes a trip on the “Yellow Submarine”. 1968

Note*** This review previously appeared on my other site,but I thought it looked much better on this one

Yellow Submarine

Cast:  John Clive, Paul Angelis

Writers:  Lee Minoff, Al Brodax, John Mendlsohn Erich Segal

Director:  George Dunning

When people took acid back in the late sixties, I’m pretty sure this what they saw.  “The Yellow Submarine” by definition is trippy.  It’s artwork by Heinz Edelmann is very colorful and has an almost storybook quality to it as well.   The movie was recently put back in theatres in an all new restored version.  Each frame was redone by hand to really bring out the colors that was missing from other versions.  I have never seen this before on the big screen and I’m glad I did, but once it hits Blue Ray.  It’s going to look even more amazing.

The story is set in the world of Pepper Land.  A wonderful place where the residents are protected from the Blue Meanies by the music of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart Club band.    The Meanies however devise a plan to put everyone into a coma and trap the band in a glass bubble.  The only one that manages to escape is a sea-captain called Young Fred( the joke is that both young and old Fred look slightly similar).  He alone takes the yellow submarine to go find help and does so by stumbling upon The Beatles.  The hapless captain and the fab four travel the sea of green on their way back to Pepper Land, while singing several different songs along the way.

I have seen this once before on a remastered DVD  and the images in this new version are even more amazing. The colors are even more brighter than they were before and the soundtrack is very lush as well.   The only gripe I had about the clean up was the voice work. It doesn’t sound different from the previous versions I have seen.  It all sounded like they were coming from a record player from across the room.  I wish they would have tweaked that up just a bit, but I’m sure they did the best they could.

This isn’t going to be a movie that everyone will love.  Let’s face it if you’re not a Beatles fan or a lover of animation or artwork. There is very little for me to recommend here.   The story is very basic and most of the characters speak in puns or one liners.   Really little kids might be impressed with the visuals, but older kids might be a bit bored with it.  I know when this does come out on Blue Ray I will be showing it to my niece and nephews and hopefully I can help steer them away from wanting to see another “ICE AGE” sequel

Have a good week.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with each other and it's fun to discover new classics. I co host the podcasts The Film Pasture, ScreenTrax, and soon Cinema Recall. While also contributing reviews and articles to other great sites when I can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Vern takes a trip on the “Yellow Submarine”. 1968

  1. ninvoid99 says:

    I haven’t seen this film in years. I hope to get the new DVD release soon along with other remastered film releases of the Beatles. I just love the psychedelic images of that film.

  2. The Vern says:

    Yes I agree with that. It had such invention for it’s time Thank you for commeting

  3. biggreenjelly says:

    I watched this last year when it was released on Blu-Ray. For me it optimises the psychedelic period. I’m a huge Beatles fan and love the animation but found the actual plot pretty dull in places, once the interesting visuals had worn a little tired.

  4. The Vern says:

    Yeah I agree that it can become a bit dull in places, this would have worked better as a short film or even as a special episode of their animated TV show. Thanks for visiting.

  5. I’m glad to say my kids know what a Blue Meanie is (guess I must have done something right!). Even if it’s a bit uneven, it’s still a lot of fun. This would have been great to catch in the theater during its re-release.

    • The Vern says:

      You are a great father for showing them great movies Barry. It was cool seeing this played on thwe big screen. I am a bit upset that the 3D version of this was never made because if they could still keep it in the style of this. It would have been cool. Thanks for the comment

  6. bronsonfive says:

    I have still never seen this, though the laserdisc sits in my collection. Someday soon, it will be dusted off.

    • The Vern says:

      Laserdiscs. Sweet I love laserdiscs. They’re like the vinyl of cinephiles or maybe I’m just saying that because the look like records. Stores where I live sell them really cheap. How many do you own?

      • bronsonfive says:

        I probably own about 50 now, but I used to own a lot more. Craigslist man. That’s where I found a ton of them for cheap. eBay is a good source too. I had to unload a bunch a few years ago to lighten the load of moving.

  7. Daniel Prinn says:

    Hey, I finally read a review on here! I only like reading reviews of movies that I’ve seen or if I’m undecided on seeing them… I’m odd like that.

    You’ve convinced me to watch this, though. I love a good animated flick. (I only don’t like claymation. Maybe I’ll force some Aardman flicks upon myself one of these days…) I think I’ll have to watch this in a marathon of animated flicks or Beatles-themed movies or ones set in the 60s. So maybe if I ever pick up this, Across the Universe, Pirate Radio and Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story; I’ll know the universe wants me to watch it.

    If I wait until I’m high, or on an LSD trip of sorts, I’ll never get around to watching this!

    • The Vern says:

      Thanks for reading my review of this Daniel. The story of this is not the greatest, but the songs and the animation is. Start with Wallace and Gromit in The Wrong Trousers. It’s only 25 mins long and is one of the best claymation videos ever.

Leave a Reply

