The Vern pays respect to Robin Williams(1951 to 2014)

Robin WilliamsThis week marks the passing of actor Robin Williams and unlike a lot of other celebrity deaths.  I am a little torn on how I feel about this one.  It’s sad that the guy known for making millions of people laugh was in reality not happy himself.  I almost feel ashamed by laughing at his movies and shows because of how much he was hurting inside.  When writers and musicians get depressed they can just put their feelings into their works.  When an actor or comedian feels hopeless, where are they suppose to vent their frustrations.  If they were to get upset, most of us would probably just shout.  “Hey! What the hell are you griping about?  You get to be in movies and make millions of dollars”. We will never understand what Robin Williams was going through when he decided to end his life.  I understand fully that it is sad and my deepest sincerest condolences go out to his friends and families(the real people that knew him, not just his fans).  But he made a choice and although I don’t agree with it.  I haft to in some ways respect it. Most of us will never get the chance to choose how or when we leave this earth, but he did. I can understand how his act could be defined as being selfish on his part, but isn’t it just as selfish to keep him here for us when he didn’t want to be any more.  I don’t want anyone to think that I am condoning his actions, because I am not.  It’s a very shocking and tragic ending and I feel bad.  However I would feel a whole lot worse if he was denied any personal freedoms.  If we can choose how to live our lives.  We also should choose how we get to end them.   Wherever you are I hope you are making those residents laugh as much as you did here.

Rest in Peace Robin Williams.

Here are some other posts about Robin Williams that you can also read.

I wrote an article for the Cinematic Katzenjammer about six of his most memorable performances.

Pick 6: Memorable Robin Williams Movie Characters

Death toNick of that same site wrote a very heartwarming eulogy that you should read as well.

Robin Williams (1951 – 2014)

good willl huntingJulia Van Valkenburg writes on the site Catch All all of the different tweets from people who have worked with him or were influenced by him.

Remembering Robin Williams

toys-robin-williams-dvd-cover-artLauren writes over at Man I Love Films, A beautiful tribute to the man

Thanks for the laughters.

One HourSteven from Surrender to the Void writes how his movies have surpassed many generations.

Robin Williams Tribute

BirdcageThe Site Content For You has a post about Robin Williams entirely in pictures that’s worth checking out.

Career in Pictures

The As You Watch Podcast will be posting our tribute to Robin Williams later this week featuring Fredo of Film Yarn so be on the look out for that.  I know I had mentioned I had a big project I was announcing, but that will haft to wait until next week.  Until then dear readers or as Mork would once say “Na Noo, Na Noo”

RObin Mork

 

 

 

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Vern pays respect to Robin Williams(1951 to 2014)

  1. Nick Powell says:

    Thanks for the link, Vern, even though it’s the last thing I want to accept as being true.. Still reeling… Didn’t think it would effect me this much.

  2. Nicely put, Vern. How one chooses to live one’s life (or not, in this sad instance) is no-one’s choice but their own. It’s tragic to imagine how unhappy he must have been, but perhaps he’s found the peace in an afterlife that he couldn’t find otherwise. His gift to the world remains untarnished, and one only hopes he at least had some inkling of how much he was loved.

  3. The Vern says:

    Thanks for reading Brandon. I agree that it is good he found peace and solace, but I will miss him.

Leave a Reply

