The Vern’s quick recap of The Oscars (So you can go back to sleep)

The-Oscars-2014-DataI’m not going to take a long time with this post because I’m a little tired, a little drunk, and I really don’t want to rewrite all of the nominated movies and the winners all over again.  Chances are if you are reading this post, then you already know who the winners are without me having to tell you.  And if you seriously don’t know.  It’s really easy to find out.  If you still don’t know.  You should not own a computer or be allowed to operate anything with an on or off switch.   Here  were the big winners of the night.  Oh and if there are any misspells. I’m sorry, but if you call attention to them.  You are a dick.   Hate to use strong words like that.  But  if you are reading posts just pick out the spelling mistakes of others.  You are an A-Hole.gravity-sandra-bullock-17Gravity” took home 7 Oscars out of 10.  Including Best Director Alfonso Curon and Best Cinematography Emmanuel Lubezki.

12-Years-A-Slave-Movie 212 Years a Slave” took home the big award of the night by winning Best Picture.  Lupita Nyong’o was a well deserved surprise for me by beating out my choice of Jennifer Lawrence for best supporting actress.

JLAW FightHere is a fun behind the scenes pic that shows a friendly fight between the two actresses that I love.  Infact there really wasn’t any rivaly between any of the nominees which was very awesome to see.   Maybe everyone was still drunk from the Indie Spirit Awards so that all egos were put aside for the night.

karen-o-ezra-koenig-oscarsKaren O may have lost to the folks from “Frozen“, but she won my heart with her performance of The Moon Song.

Oscars-2014-Cate-Blanchett-triomphante-et-rayonnante_referenceWas any of the big winners really a surprise.  I have still yet to see “Dallas Buyers Club” and just got done watching “12 Years a Slave” about an hour earlier.   I’m not going to say it is not worthy of the big award, but it isn’t one I will revisit anytime soon.   Cate Blanchett gave a great speech for her win in “Blue Jasmine” and I gotta give her props for delivering a great one.   She even thanked Woody Allen when a lot of people would either ignore him or just trash him.

BhxWutnCEAAtEQ6.jpg largeI thought Ellen Degeneres did a fine job as host and enjoyed a lot of the fun jabs she had a celebrites durring the show.  The Selfie pic she took with her and some of the other actors were fun, but the one below is even better.  Thanks to @mattvanwinkle for tweeting this

NICKCAGEThat is it for now.  There will be a few changes going on this site during the week but for now.  Good Night

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Vern’s quick recap of The Oscars (So you can go back to sleep)

  1. jjames36 says:

    No big surprises in the big categories. Nyong’o was the closest to a surprise, but most observers thought it a coin flip between she and Lawrence (and Vegas had Nyong’o as the favorite).

    Rough night for American Hustle, though.

    • The Vern says:

      Very True. It was a rough night for all of the other nominated movies for Best Picture as well. Hell The Great Gatsby even got 2 wins. Thanks for the comments

  2. I was a bit harsher on Ellen than yourself. Mostly cause I’m an angry person but also because pizza.

  3. The Vern says:

    Pizza makes you angry?? It could be just the toppings. Thanks for visiting anyways Angry or not. I love having you here.

  4. vinnieh says:

    Love the selfie, star studded is an understatement.

  5. Chris says:

    12 Years a Slave, yeah, I wouldn’t rewatch that too often, but I appreciate the performances.
    I’ve been listening to The Moon Song, and Her soundtrack. Joaquin Phoenix should have been nominated for Her.
    Wasn’t the best oscar show ever, had its fun moments. That record-breaking tweet with the selfie was fun.

    • The Vern says:

      I love The Moon Song, and agree that Joaquin and Scarlet both deserved a nom for her, but really glad that Spike won even though he should have been up for best director.

  6. Good post and you know what I love strong harsh words keep using them! Lupita is the bomb!

  7. I loved the Oscars this year. I cried during the ‘In Memoriam’ section (it was tough to see Joan Fontaine, Peter O’Toole, Roger Ebert, Harold Ramis, and many other favourites of mine go). I also cried during the Judy Garland/Wizard of Oz tribute, because having read her biography, I knew very well that she should have received such an honour whilst she was alive… Bette Midler singing “Wind Beneath My Wing” exacerbated these feelings too! haha.

    Oh, and Nyong’o and Leto’s speeches were very moving. I just loved it all, especially the Oscar nominated songs being performed! Seeing “The Moon Song” get special attention was great :)

    • The Vern says:

      I thought Karen O Jennifer Lawrence and Cate Blanchett looked so yummy. Is Jlaw single, because she would be a really fun date. During the whole “In Memoriam” section I thought they could have had Bette Midler sing that song while they showed the photos. Thanks for the comments

Leave a Reply

