Top 10 Most Influential Directors and Oscar Predictions.

Hello everyone.

2014_OscarsThe Vern’s 2014 Oscar Winning Predictions.

The 86th Academy Awards are only a few weeks away, and although I may be a bit early in posting my predictions.  I thought it was best that I get them out the way now before I start doubting myself.  I may be kicking myself the night before the show.  Wondering why I didn’t chose something else as the winner.  But I feel I made pretty accurate decisions on choosing the winner.   Click on the link above to read my picks.

Silver screen Logo10 Most Influential Filmmakers: Part 1.

Over on the Silver Screen Speak Podcast.  Cristina Lule(Thoughts of a Dying Cinephile)  and I discuss our picks of the ten most influential filmmakers of all time.  We each chose five names and talk about their best film.  This is just part one of a series we hope to continue. Have a listen and let us know what you think.

 

ROBOCOPI will be back later to review all three original Robocop movies and hopefully the 2014 family friendly version by the end of next week.  Take care.

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in article, Information and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 10 Most Influential Directors and Oscar Predictions.

  1. jjames36 says:

    Your Oscar predictions are very good. My guess is that Cuaron takes Director, as well, but that is the only category I think we can question. As it is slated, 12 Years is the obvious favorite for Screenplay and Picture. And that’s it.

    Here’s the thing: the Academy rarely gives Picture to a movie that wins only one other award. Here’s the other thing: Gravity is going to dominate the technical awards, so 12 Years is out there. And the acting awards ain’t going to 12 Years either. Which leaves Director, I think, in play. Gravity will get recognized with all of the technical awards it receives, so I think the academy might well acknowledge 12 Years with the two biggest awards, Picture and Director, the latter of which will buck the trend the guilds and Globes have been following, but would also be consistent with the Academy’s typical behavior.

    We shall see.

  2. The Vern says:

    You do make a good point about 12 Years getting both picture and director, and Gravity getting the tech awards. That’s usually what happens but it has changed before. Spielberg won Best Director for Saving Private Ryan and best Picture went to Shakespeare in Love. Also Ang Lee won for Brokeback Mountain but Best Picture went to Crash. Thanks for visiting

  3. MikeOsaer says:

    Agree with all of your predictions. My personal choices would have been slightly different… and I really do hope Chiwi Ejiofor and McQueen get best acting & director nods over McConaughey & Cuaron as I do think they are more deserving – but what you said above about certain films not ‘sweeping the board’ is very accurate. Great depth of choices for this year though, I think it’s been an incredibly strong year for film…

    • The Vern says:

      You are right in choosing Ejiofor for best actor and McQueen as best director. I wont be upset if they take home the awards this year. Thanks for the comments, it was a good year for movies.

  4. Great predictions! I’d love to see Cate Blanchett and Matthew McConaughey win. I’m torn between Jared Leto and Barkhad Abdi for best supporting actor – they were both phenomenal! As for best picture, I think you’re right 12 Years A Slave will probably win, but I’d love to see Dallas Buyers Club take it home. Captain Phillips is one of my favourites from the selection too.

    • The Vern says:

      I think Blanchett and McConaughey are basically a lock at this moment(I could be wrong though) I agree that its hard to choose between Leto and Abdi, but Im going go with Leto to win. Thank you very much for commenting.

Leave a Reply

