The Vern takes a Vacation….sort of


Calvin
I don’t have an imaginary stuffed Tiger, but if I did.  This is what I would do with my free time

Hello.  I wanted to write you all this quick post, and let you know that I’m taking a little break from blogging.  My work load is starting to increase which leaves me less time for writing.  As much as I love writing reviews and lists about movies.  I just don’t have the time to be working on it as much now.  It gets to be too much with the writing, and then editing, back to revising and then writing once more again. Plus after I’m done with each post I gotta go out to the different social media sites and plug it.  It gets to be quite an over kill.  Instead most of my free time will be spent working on new episodes of As You Watch as well as my brand new show Silver Screen Speak(both now available in Itunes.  Just search for them in the podcast section). Most days after work, instead of thinking of new posts I just want to relax and watch a movie or even a TV show.  I am way behind on episodes of “Archer” and I missed all of last weeks run of “The Daily Show“/”Colbert Report” too.   It’s not that I get burned out writing, but if I don’t take a break  from it every once in a while.  I find my writing starts to get stale, and then I eventually get bored with it.  That’s not what I  want, but don’t worry.  Because, I still plan on being very active.

Brad Pitt DancingWell maybe not that active, but pretty damn close

I highly recommend visiting my Facebook page.  There you will find me posting videos of trailers or some other awesome thing I found.  You will also get links to some other really good writers and their reviews of movies too.  Some of them have not been seen by me.  Plus its a really good resource to know when new episodes of the awesome podcasts I mentioned will be posted.(Speaking of which.  Have you listened to the 200th episode of The LAMBcast. Its a damn good time, and I even sing a song MST3K style to celebrate it).  I’m also active on twitter most days so don’t forget to follow me there too.  I will try my best to retweet a review you wrote if you leave me a comment.(Yes, yes, I know it’s a shameless attempt at trying to get more readers, so shoot me)  I will be back in exactly two weeks with my official Oscar Predictions so please watch out for that.  Until then dear readers.  Keep reaching for the sky or why do I hate Tomato Juice but love Bloody Marys?

The Vern’s Video Vortex/Videovanguard Facebook Page

The Vern on Twitter

8442&v=fit512

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Vern takes a Vacation….sort of

  1. Dan Heaton says:

    Taking a break totally makes sense. I slowed down my pace for a while in the summer and fall, and now I’m energized again to keep writing. It definitely helps with avoiding a total burnout. Nice work on episode 200!

  2. The Vern says:

    Thanks Dan. I appreciate the nice thoughts. (Dan’s site is The Public Transportation Snob and I highly recommend readers to check it out. At least when you’re done with this site. He is a really good writer)

  3. Absolutely love Archer. Blitzing through seasons of that sounds like a perfect break. Then follow it up with a run of Bob’s Burgers. There’s a crossover episode that’s pretty awesome. Enjoy the break!

  4. Cheers man. Sometimes a break can be very helpful! I myself have been rejuvenated just by not trying to force new content all the time. Enjoy your time away!

  5. table9mutant says:

    I really need to take a break too. :-/ As long as you’re still around, that’s good! I’ll see you on Twitter – I spend way too much time there these days. ; )

  6. The Vern says:

    Thanks, but my break was really a short one and going forward I’m going to try and write up a post at least twice a week, and if I do more great, but if not. It’s no big deal. Thanks again for visiting.

Leave a Reply

