The Vern Reviews ‘Dead Hooker in a Trunk’ by The Twisted Twins.

dead_hooker

Dead Hooker in a Trunk

Cast: Rikki Gagne, Jen Soska, CJ Wallis

Writers and Directors: Jen and Sylvia Soska

Whenever I see a movie that really impressed me. It’s important that I go back and see earlier works from that writer, director or cast member. A few months ago I was lucky enough to see “American Mary” which starred Katherine Isabelle from “Ginger Snaps“. This was a very well done horror film that introduced me to Jen and Sylvia Soska aka The Twisted Twins. That film has a very distinct look and I wanted to know if that same style was present with their first feature “Dead Hooker in a Trunk“. Shot with obviously less budget then ‘Mary‘. I was still impressed with their ability to create some memorable and likable characters and also tell a story that had me surprised and shocked at many key moments.

What I love best about this flick is that none of the characters have names. They are all fully established by their personality alone instead of giving them standard generic names.  In most movies, you remember the character trait before you remember the actual name.  So why not just cut out the whole name thing and list that particular persona as the character name instead.  It sure as hell makes it alot easier to tell the characters apart. Especially when two of them are played by twin sisters. I do realize that I’m already into the 2nd paragraph and have not told you what this feature is about.  I’m sorry folks, but I’m not going to give you a plot synopsis of this movie. The title alone should give you a good indication of what this story is about anyways. That and the trailer I posted above too.

I will say that it is refreshing to see that the exploitation genre is still going strong.  I personally love seeing more women directors who take on these very gritty types of cinema. Women are proving time and time again that they can make movies that are just as f’ed up then their male counterparts.  Or in some cases even more.   A lot of things become really messed up in “Dead Hooker in a Trunk“, so if you are among the ones who offend easily. It may be wise to skip past this. If you are expecting me to warn you of anything that could possibly be offensive. I’d highly advise that you take another look at the title of the movie in this review.

Dead Hooker

I will not say that this is a perfect movie because there are some obvious problems during the last 35 minutes.  It’s almost like they became tired and lost that same level of energy during the first half.  Some characters do certain things that would indicate some sort of growth or change in that persona.  But then to have them go back and be the same person as before.  It feels like that scene was wasted.

With only two films complete. Jen and Sylvia Soska are indeed a name that I hope gets more recognition. in the future  As I write this they are working on directing “See No Evil 2“.  It’s very cool to see that they have been picked up to direct the next chapter in a horror franchise.  They just need to be careful, so they don’t get pigeonholed in that environment. With that said, I do recommend that fans of these kinds of off the wall movies check it out and watch it with a group of other exploitation nut jobs.  In no way should anyone consider this to be a Grind House style rip off.  The Twisted Twins  in no way are trying to recreate an era of cinema from long ago. They are however, keeping the genre very much alive and well by presenting new kinds of exploitation cinema.  I highly look forward to watching anything these girls release in their ongoing careers.

8442&v=fit512

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Vern Reviews ‘Dead Hooker in a Trunk’ by The Twisted Twins.

  1. I’ve been putting it off, but I really need to see this. I loved American Mary. I’m not sure how I feel about their involvement in See No Evil 2, but I hope they’ll elevate what wasn’t a particularly promising start for the franchise. It wasn’t really bad, just infinitely forgettable. Can they make it “must see”?

  2. The Vern says:

    Thanks for the comment Brandon. I don’t mind them contributing to See No Evil 2. I just don’t want them to stay doing horror sequels. I want more original stories from them.

  3. Pingback: The Vern likes Shorts Shorts (Films that is) | The Vern's Video Vortex.

Leave a Reply

