The Vern’s 6th Troma Challenge: Poultrygeist :Night of the Chicken Dead.

Poultrygeist 2

Poultrygeist:Night of the Chicken Dead.

Cast: Jason Yachanin, Kate Graham,Allyson Sereboff

Writers: Daniel Bova,Gabriel Friedman, Lloyd Kauffman

Director:Lloyd Kaufman.

Most people tend to dismiss movies by Troma as nothing more than cheaply made movies with horrible acting and bad special effects.  What they fail to notice is the love and joy of movie making the cast and crew have while making each of these pictures.     We have all seen countless zombie movies and TV shows be released  in the past few years.  But how many of those involved undead birds who possess people.  That’s right just one, although I’m sure there was one that was made in the 70’s where a guy took something and he thought he was a chicken.  But that is not this movie.   This is…….wait for it……..wait for it…..hold on……….Wait…This is… what the hell am I doing?  You already know what the title of this review is.  It’s on the damn title page.  Why am I even bothering trying to build suspense.  I do this all the time.  I want to write a simple review of a movie and then I go off on some other topic that has nothing to do with what I’m presenting.  I think this all goes back to the time when I was six and…….Oh shit, I’m doing it again aren’t I.  Sorry about that folks.  Well, hit the more button or scroll down to read my thoughts about “Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead.

When a fast food chain builds their latest restaurant on top of sacred Indian burial grounds.  The spirits take vengeance and contaminate all of the food inside.  Turning each person who consumes it into a blood thirsty chicken who develops a hunger for human flesh.  Arbie(Jason Yachanin) along with his lesbian girlfriend Wendy(Kate Graham) must try and defeat the walking rotisserie before they become deep fried themselves.

What I love best about Troma and especially in this movie is that they address all of the usual cliches that are done in these types of movies and make fun of them.   There is one scene where a horde of chicken possessed zombies are ascending on our survivors held up at the fast food restaurant.  One of the patrons gets the good idea to turn the open sign to close.  Once the chicken zombies sees this, they get discouraged and turn back. This is one of many jokes that are featured within this comedy from Lloyd Kaufman and crew.

poultrygeistAnother thing  I want to praise the movie for is their use of practical effects.  In the age of computers being used everyday for effects work.  There is something really cool to see that there are people out there who are using real props to bring out the gore, and in one particular scene, the blood does fly.  As well as  some arms, legs, and faces getting ripped off too.  In one scene a dude has a broom stick shoved up his back side all the way to his front making it extremely difficult for him to  to umm , ummm. Well you get the idea.  The level of commitment that went into the effects is really quite remarkable.  Especially when you find out that everyone who worked on the picture. Did for little to no money

I really don’t think there it another studio around that has that much love from it’s fans that they would want to work for free.  This is how Troma stands out from other film companies.  I don’t think there is another studio who appreciates their fans more then they do.  As much as I would love to be on the set for a Darren Aronofsky feature or be present when Guillermo Del Toro composes a shot.  I would become bored very shortly.  However with Troma. It looks like each day would bring something completely new.

8442&v=fit512Be sure to check out my interview with Lloyd Kaufman over at The As You Watch Podcast

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Vern’s 6th Troma Challenge: Poultrygeist :Night of the Chicken Dead.

  1. jjames36 says:

    I doubt this is for me, but should I come across it without having to exert much money or effort, I’ll now give it a shot.

    Good review.

  2. The Vern says:

    Thanks James. It is a fun one. You can tell that everyone had fun while shooting it

  3. I couldn’t get into Poultrygeist the first time I tried watching it, and stopped about 15 minutes in. Maye I just wasn’t in the mood for Troma’s brand of lunacy at the time. Based on your enthusiastic review, I might need to give it another shot. Nice post.

  4. The Vern says:

    Troma is not for everyone, but if you can get in the mindframe that you are going to be spending a few hours with some crazy friends and drink a lot. You’ll enjoy it more. Would love to be on set for one of these pictures when it’s being made. Thanks for visting

Leave a Reply

