The Vern looks at a few more shorts…..Films

Wholesale-2011-shorts-pants-font-b-Men-s-b-font-and-women-s-beach-shorts-summer

Every few months or so I take a look at some short films or music videos that are being made by some great movie fans. Most of the ones featured will be from ones from novice filmmakers, but that’s part of the fun. You get a chance to discover these filmmakers before anyone else does.

The Dawning 

Cast: Kelly-Marie Murtha, Paul Witko,Dainel Muzar
Writer and Director Ada Vaughan


In this short, A woman gets ignored by her familly on her birthday but gets a nice surprise by a resident she cares for. It’s a nice simple heartwarming tale with good performances from the cast all around. Director Ada Vaughan does a good job with establishing each character’s personality in the short amount of time this film holds. I just wished the loneliness our main character felt was just a bit stronger. That way when the resident surprises her at the end, it would have more of an impact.  Still this is a fine feature and I look forward to watching more pieces of work from Sable Films.

Darjeeling
Cast Darren Rushton,Michael James Dean
Written and Directed by Michael James Dean


This one I’m a little lost on, and please don’t misinterpret that as I hated it or it doesn’t make sense. The story does make sense, but I’m not sure if I understood it the way the writer wanted me too. So I’ll do my best in explaining the story.  In a dining room of a small apartment sit two men. One is an older male in his 50’s with visible bruises on his face. The other is a younger gentlemen with a beard. The bearded guy sits down with the other one and talks to him about time and how is dad watched time pass on the grandfather clock in the living room. He even says to the older gentlemen that his time is up. I believe the younger man was the grim reaper coming to collect the soul of the older guy. It is a nice film with a good ending,and great performances. However fifteen minutes is a bit long for this short.  There are a few moments that could have been cut from the beginning and the impact would have been greater. Posh Dinosaur Productions do have a nice network of up and coming filmmakers and it would be interesting to see what they do next.

Aidan 5

Cast. Bryan Michael Block, Maya Sayre,John Osbeck
Series Creators: Tim Baldwin, John Jackson.


In this very creative web series Detective James Aidan(Bryan Michael Block) is investigating the brutal murders of his own clones. Done in a style that is part “Sin City” part “Blade Runner” This is one short that keeps building on from one episode to the next. The cast are all great in this world, and I love the sketched like look to the exterior shots in this movie. It makes it stand out from other sci-fi flicks I have seen before.  “Aidan 5“is a nifty little thrill ride that I am looking forward to watching more episodes of.  Room 10 Productions have a cool web series on their hands, and I can’t wait to see more.

If you have a short you would like me to review or you know of one I should check out.  please send me the link to my Email. TheVern@videovangaurd.com.  Thank you.

8442&v=fit512

About The Vern

I love movies and I enjoy writing about them too. They both go pretty much hand in hand with eachother and it's fun to discover new classics. I also cohost the podcast As You Watch and write for The Cinematic Katzenjammer.
This entry was posted in article, The Vern's Shorts. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Vern looks at a few more shorts…..Films

  1. jjames36 says:

    Thanks for sharing them, Vern.

    • The Vern says:

      Thanks for watching them James

      • jjames36 says:

        Actually, I hadn’t yet. I’d watched the first one, but then I had to tend to children. But I knew if I didn’t comment right away, and thereby get your response, I’d forget to watch the last two. :-)

        Now I have watched all of them.

        I think you read the second correctly. It also happens to be my favorite of the three. The actors are both fantastic, and the opening sequence effectively creates tension and suspense, making us wonder who are these people, especially the second man. Once it becomes more clear the younger man is a reaper, the performances suggest even more discomfort. A wonderfully skillful short. I even like the length.

        The third is my second favorite. I’m with you that the look is astonishing, and that the story arc is fascinating. I too cannot wait to see more. I suspect I’ll be watching more of the story soon. Again, I appreciate the acting in it, but I also appreciate the writing. We don’t get a great sense of character, really, but the mystery is compelling all the same.

        The first is my least favorite, by far. The performances aren’t quite as great as I’d like, but I also think the writing a tad awkward. It feels like a 1950s family, except the woman’s daughter has a cell phone. I wouldn’t say I dislike it, per se, just that I don’t like it as much as the other two.

        Anyway . . . thanks again for sharing! :-)

  2. The Vern says:

    You make some very valid points about each feature. I’m with you about Darjeeling and it’s acting. It’s very good. I dont have a huge issue with the length. It’s fine, but the whole conversation the younger guy has could have been shortened just a tad. I’m going to keep my eyes open about Aidan 5 and it’s creative team. Jessica Cameron of “Truth or Dare” is in later episodes. That is how I found out about it. Thanks for the long comment James

  3. Chris says:

    I haven’t seen those shorts you mention. I’ll give Aidan 5 a watch, thanks for sharing! I compiled a ranking of my fav short films on letterboxd, if you’re interested: http://letterboxd.com/mas365/list/favorite-short-films/

  4. The Vern says:

    I am interested to read your thoughts about Aidan 5. I did read your list and you have some really nice choices on there. I do plan on including the Cousins short from Coffee and Cigarettes on a future post because Cate Blanchett is amazing in it. Do need to watch more classic shorts by Buster Keaton and other silent stars. Thanks for sharing the list Chris.

    • Chris says:

      Was actually clip with Alfred Molina and Steve Coogan that’s my favorite from the film. Strangely both clips are called “cousins”, I need to rewatch the Cate Blanchett one :)

Leave a Reply

